Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Kathleen

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant hotel and helpful and friendly staff , would recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
by kathy from Wyoming

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
I had a six night stay at the Marienpoel and it was wonderful to come back to a large, clean, comfortable room after a full day of sightseeing. The host was very gracious, and accommodating (and I wish I could remember his name!). The neighborhood was quiet at night. Leiden is a wonderful place to stay -- centrally located to Amsterdam, the Hague, Delft, the beach --and the Marienpoel is a wonderful place to see it all from!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reservation problem and rude service

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
The Marienpol hotel internet had apparently been down when hotels.com "confirmed" our booking - so although we received multiple confirmations of our booking at the Marienpol from hotels.com, when we arrived at the hotel itself on the evening of the reservation, we told that we in fact had no reservation. We were also told that we had to go elsewhere because the hotel was sold out. Finally, despite the fact that we were now roomless in a foreign country and needed to make alternative arrangements, the hotel management would neither let us use the hotel wifi to make other arrangements or park our car. The staff member with whom we interacted was very rude. (All ratings for all categories besides service were guesses because leaving a review requires filling in all categories but we were never in fact given a room!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 night in Leiden

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: -
Cons: -
Location: -
Lovely single room, the bed of a small double size so pretty roomy. Did only have one pillow (and I'm fussy with pillows and didn't like it!). good in-room facilities like teapot and stocked mini-fridge (didn't use), tv with usual channels. Breakfast delivered between 7-9am to your room (you can pick the time and they stick with it). The only thing is is says 4stars and full price well above what I paid, but I wouldn't rate it that high. My experience with 4 stars is roomier, luxury rooms with bathrooms,slippers and lots of bathroom goodies. This was a very good 3star, leaning against b&b or guest house rather than hotel. But nevertheless lovely stay and enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend at the Expedia offer price I got.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

Good base for travel in the Netherlands

Posted May 1, 2016
I used this hotel as a central location for my two weeks in the Netherlands. The hotel was extremely clean with hospitable owner and staff. Located approximately one-fourth mile from the train station, the station is considered a main station. This made it convenient to get south to Delft, the Hague, Gouda, and Rotterdam, and north to Amsterdam, Haarlem, and Altmeer. The hotel has no restaurant, but restaurants are located within the train station and a short walk close to it. A Jumbo grocery store is located across the street from the train station. The owner emptied the room's refrigerator so I could keep food. My room was simply furnished with no easy chair, but met my needs very well. I would return not only because of the location and reasonable cost, but also because of the very friendly staff, cleanliness, and maintenance of the entire hotel. The owner arranged a taxi to get me to Schipol, a cost of 46 Euros. The bus to reach the Keukenhof garden was in front of the train station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paul from Utah

Cute, cozy and Clean

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Quirky little hotel with a bed and breakfast feel. Very strange check in procedure, didn't meet a person. But thought the hotel was nice, clean, cozy and close to the train station and hospital. The town itself is just the other side of the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and helpful owner

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: The owner Edwin was very helpful. Each morning a breakfast was delivered to your room. He gave great advise about where to eat and visit.
We were ending our 2 week trip and decided to stay outside of Amsterdam. The hotel was an easy walk to the old square and you could easily drive to the beach and other local attractions. Parking is available but must be arranged prior to arrival.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, England

Nice hotel close to train and town centre

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: I liked the proximity to the rail station and town centre and was pleased that there was a fridge and kettle in my room.
Cons: I think the practice of delivering breakfast to the bedrooms should be stopped and replaced by a buffet breakfast room open from 7 to 10.
Location: Convenient location close to the rail station and sightseeing easily accessible on foot.
This is a family run hotel with only nine bedrooms, and such hotels in my experience keep staff to a minimum to save expense, so there was no receptionist on duty after 1pm, though you can get in touch with the manager by phone after that time. Breakfast is delivered to your bedroom from 7 to 9 each morning but this means you have to be awake when the breakfast is delivered and can shorten your sleep, as it did in my case. Although I asked for the breakfast to be delivered at 9am, it was always delivered earlier. I much prefer a buffet breakfast in a designated room open from 7 to 10am. This means you can sleep as late as you want up to 10am. Getting your full sleep is vital if you're to enjoy a busy day sightseeing. The impression I got was that they wanted me out of my room early so the staff could finish early.
3 out of 5
by Mark from Cardiff

Nice location, good service but.....

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is well kept but dated. The manager was very friendly and helpful