Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montrose, co

Great location

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Cons: Coffee pots in rooms
Location: Leiden Central station, grocery store, information center, de valk windmill, bike rental, many restaurants
Near train station, easy walking distance to historic city, staff was helpful - no problem with languages
5 out of 5
by breda from Skerries, Ireland

Weekend in Leiden

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
We went to Leiden for our first visit to our son who recently moved there. Leiden is very pretty and easy to walk around. The foodmarket on Sat is worth a visit and a canal tour gives you an overview of its geography and history. Lovely bars & restaurants to sit outside and watch the world cycle by. Leiden is only 13mins by fast train from Schipol. Airport and 40 mins from Amsterdam. The hotel was very convenient to train station. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
by Izabela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by George from Malta

very good stay

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
we did not have coffee/ tea making facilities in the room
5 out of 5
by Gabriel from Germany

Good enough

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent Hotel and excellent price, be warned that you will have a person tax after each day you stay that is not included in the price. *8 Euro per person per day...this can add up. Very close to the trainstation
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Well located for station.

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The location, staff and television channels.
Cons: The room lighting, the size of the shower and the sound insulation.
Location: Is near the railway station and the Windmill Museum.
For us this hotel was well located as it was near to the railway station. The entrance and reception are shared with the Golden Tulip hotel ( which we gathered has slightly better facilities ). In addition to free wifi there were two pcs available for guest use. We were impressed that there was at least one display screen near reception displaying current train times. All staff we encountered were cheerful and efficient. The room was adequately furnished and the television had a very wide range of channels. Although there were several lights and lamps in the room they weren't bright enough and the room wasn't very well lit even when they were all switched on. The shower was powerful enough but the cubicle was disappointingly small; possibly the smallest we have ever encountered in a hotel. The sound insulation between the rooms wasn't very good and we suspect the dividing wall was just plasterboard.
2 out of 5
by Fernando from London

I was expecting more from a Tulip

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
I was expecting more from a Tulip hotel. The common areas outside the rooms were not very clean. And a bit smelling. The room was a bit old but it was clean.
4 out of 5
by rufino jose from London

Good Business Hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Great Service at the hotel, Location wise isn't bad being close to the train station that takes you straight to the airport. Also walking distance to the city center. Even if the hotel is a bit dark on the nights.
5 out of 5
by Elias

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

time has not been nice to this hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2015
First, I was put in a room facing the freeway, with the window broken so I could hear all the noise. Asked for another room. The staff is very nice. Right away, they put me in a new room. The shower was broken in the new room. They did not fix it until the following day, later in the afternoon... The bedding is old and the color of the sheets is yellowish. Same with towels. WiFi works. Restaurant is nice but very expensive. Very close to the train station. I recommend this hotel for a night or maximum two but if you want to stay longer, avoid it.