Ratings based on 4,374 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close location to the museums

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were disappointing. The shower leaked constantly, the room I had was facing a building about 2 feet away that was under construction the whole time. The TV was awful and had poor channel selection. Finally the sheets were rough, not sure they had been washed recently.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Needs an update

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Rooms need refurbishing, website needs to be more accurate. It would have been nice to be warned about construction going outside the window!
Location: Very close to the museum precinct and stadium.
The staff were friendly and professional and the foyer is inviting. The experience in the room however did not meet expectations, nor was it as advertised on the website. We booked a room with 2 queen beds and they were just doubles. The sofa bed in the lounge was so saggy we got sore backs and the edges dug into our legs. We booked 4 guests and a baby and were only provided 2 towels, the carpet was very stained which made it feel grubby even though it was clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Key West, FL

Location is the Only Good Thing About this Hotel!

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The location and friendly staff are the ONLY good things about this place.
Cons: Complete renovation is needed. The Essex Inn is a dump.
Location: Conveniently located with lots of good restaurants within walking distance, as well as close to many VERY NICE HOTELS... unlike the Essex Inn!
This hotel's website in no way accurately depicted what I found at the property. While the staff was pleasant and attentive, the property itself was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The bathroom floor tiles were all loose and cracking, to the extent that the floor felt unstable. The shower stall was tiny, old, dingy and in poor repair. The water barely dribbled out of the shower head. The mattress sagged terribly in the middle, the carpet in the room was stained to the point that I refused to walk barefoot anywhere. I travel for work 2-3 weeks per month and have never felt unsafe in a hotel like I did at the Essex Inn. You can hear everything going on in the hallway, neighboring rooms and on the construction site that was literally 5 feet from the sliding door in my room. I booked this property because all other hotels in the area were sold out with the Cubs in town for the playoffs. The fact that they had vacancies should've been a clue. The locals that I worked with on this trip said that this hotel has a pretty seedy reputation and were genuinely shocked that I was staying there. The location on S Michigan Ave and the friendly staff are the ONLY positives. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, for any reason. I feel like it was truly a bait and switch with the difference between what is advertised and what the actual condition is.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Building site outside my window. Hotel is tired and too expensive for the condition Irbis in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location for Chicago marathon

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Right near the start and finish lines for the Chicago marathon. Also walking distance to many of the key must see sites. Staff were fantastic in providing recommendations and directions to restaurants and sites. Expedia combined price on air and hotel was unbeatable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing China

Close to all the things we wanted to do

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Cons: Not any information in the room, like phone numbers, eating places, or emergency info.
Location: Hop on the Big B bus for tour was right outside the door and across the street.
We had a very nice stay. The hotel is being added to so it's a bit noisy in the day but didn't bother us. Staff is very helpful. Not any information in the room, like phone numbers, eating places, or emergency info.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mpls.

Close to conference venues.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient.
Cons: An update in carpeting would be a welcome addition.
Location: I loved the proximity to the parks.
The bed was comfortable. and the staff was very attentive and polite. Carpeting was not as clean as I would expect. The hot water side of the faucet in the bathroom leaked and would not stop running. The street noise level was very loud in my room on the 8th floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to hop on hop off bus

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Everything was very easy and the location was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Was there for the Chicago Marathon. It was expensive, but "location, location, location." RIght across Michigan from Grant Park - simple walk to the start/finish areas. Close to walk to restaurants on day before race as well as to walk on sore legs afterwards to get some food that night. The next morning we opted to check out earlier than we had to so that we could shop and not have to return by 11. The valet brought the car back for us to load, we then walked down Michigan to do some shopping and get some lunch as our parking was good until 3 pm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Found a used condom in the bedding and was told that it was not the hotels fault.