Ratings based on 4,440 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Nice hotel, park view

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Nice hotel, staff was super friendly and there was a park view! The only thing is that if you go when it starts getting cold the hotel runs on a two pipe ac unit... so if the heat is on in the lobby, it’s also on in your room. And in the gym! If you’re cold natured that’s fine, but I was hot and had to sleep with the window cracked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lockport, IL

Great location, great stay

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Convenience, location
Cons: Decor could be updated, but it doesn't change the overall hotel. Bathroom could be a little larger.
Location: Location is great. Grant Park across the street. Bars and restaurants are over the area.
Chose the hotel because it is within walking distance to Soldier Field. The view from our room overlooked Michigan Avenue, Grant Park with a view in the distance of Navy Pier. There are many bars and fantastic restaurants nearby. The fitness center has a good weight selection and cardio machines. The room was comfortable and provided a good night sleep. Room was also very clean. There are also a number of safe, covered garages as options through parking apps rather than paying valet prices at the hotel. I will stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Robert, MO

Hotel was close to everything we wanted to see

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The construction noise was a little to much and parking is pricey if you want to use your car on a daily in and out
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atl

You get what you pay for

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: After all, the price.
Cons: Needs facelift.
The staff was wonderful. The hotel is old. The bath was remodeled, but old carpet in room and hall, old furniture and wall coverings. The hotel is nothing special. Also, skyscraper construction next door. It didn't bother us on the weekend but could be loud during week. Location is good. Coffee shops nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Room was facing a construction site with loud drilling/hammering early in the morning. Wifi was terrible. The shower didn't drain well. Only chose this hotel because it was less expensive, that was a mistake, pay the few dollars more, don't stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Safe neighborhood, good location, clean room.
Cons: Super tiny room. Outdated.
Just okay. Affordable pricing but super tiny, outdated room. Bed was comfortable and it was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

meeting sisters in Chicago

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: doormen were friendly and helpful desk reception did their job and got me checked in rooms were clean and fine. Some wear and tear in bathroom notice
Cons: Did not get room cleaned one day, Hotel was doing some elevator work Did get easily get extra towels and soap at front desk
Location: On Michigan Ave, across from park. Walking few blocks to shopping. Restaurants everywhere.
Got there late and spent the night with my one sister and other sister's daughter (my niece). Next night spent was in a room with my two sisters. Third night was my own room because I snore loudly as I warned them. Had Trouble checking into my room because Essex's computer did not get the Expedia reservation. Some up and downs in the elevator and a phone call and the reception desk did some duplicating and got me into a a room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Don’t be pulled in by the affordability

Posted Nov 8, 2017
We stayed here for two nights and I do understand expectations are lowered when the price is lower. However, when I wiped down the room it was brown and disgusting! The shower did not work properly none of the vending machines in the entire building except for one worked and that’s the only way you can get water in this hotel. The amenities are small and the water from the shower had a blue tint. We were not informed at any time that we would be experiencing construction and there were people banging around the outside of the building at 3 AM each night. I was furious! I even wrote the manager with no response. Don’t stay here- it’s not worth saving a penny for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Bend, IN

Room clean, Construction Crew very close!

Posted Nov 7, 2017
I made this reservation with very little knowledge of the beautiful city of Chicago. I reserved a king sized bed. Upon checking in, we were informed, “we only have queen beds available. Our room was in a tight little corner, where the construction crew were very busy. They were pounding, working with large metal walls. Seriously, I could have handed them their tools! Lesson learned...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old dirty carpets, Uncomfortable beds

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Old rooms, dirty carpets, no control on air conditioning ( hotel staff decides on temp). Beds are uncomfortable and old. No oven in the room. Only good thing to me is location. I will not stay here again in future.