Ratings based on 4,058 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Very helpful staff, and in close proximity to a lot of attractions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

SUCKS DONT DO IT!

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Construction Noise was unbelievable. Rooms suck. Need updating. Front desk staff unfriendly and unhelpful. Bell staff was nice. We won’t be staying there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Only like that hotel was close to everything

Posted Dec 8, 2017
The hotel staff was terrible. The bell boy was so rude and the front desk every person i met was rude also. I would never ever come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot & Noisy

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Thermostat, Pillows, Room Keys, NOISE
The noise is ridiculous. Bring ear plugs if you want to get any sleep staying here. The thermostat has two settings. Hot or cold depending on the season. Room keys didn't work. I would not recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Affordable and convenient. Close to everything I planned on seeing. My only complaint is that check in is so late.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buena Park

The filthiest, worst Hotel I’ve ever been to.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
The beds were not full size, the bathrooms were filthy and outdated. The staff was very rude. There were holes in the doors, noise disturbances, police called on customers. Full construction going on. No pool or complimentary breakfast as advertised. Very small living conditions. My hand covered the sink. Very small. There was no room or cleaning service. We were not provided amenities such towels and soap. One towel set for a 3 bedroom suite. This is the lowest budget inn I’ve ever seen. NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful one night in Chi Town!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Checked in with a very friendly staff! Room was perfect and had all the ammenities that I needed. The free wifi was fast and easy to connect to. Will deffently stay again and highly recommend to anyone who travles to Chicago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Moved to a different hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Unfortunately the hotel was overbooked so they moved us to London House instead. The check in staff was so helpful and accommodating. I’ve stayed at the Essex before and was genuinely pleased. Great price, clean room and good service. Would recommend to anyone despite having to move for this stay (London House was amazing as well).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The room was dirty and dark Lots of constructions. Room size was so small, and smell wired
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Water is bad. No food. No parking but valet. Close to Michigan avenue.