Ratings based on 1,353 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The hotel was in a great location, but the interior needed an upgrade. The rooms were outdated, run down, and lacking tings that you would expect from a hotel. The mini fridge was a standalone unit in the corner, and there was only one bathroom for a suite that required everyone to enter the main bedroom to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Excellent location, fair price, some updating would be welcome, especially regarding closets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Classy hotel in downtown Chicago.

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Large room, high ceilings, new beds and furniture, clean and warm, plenty of towels, shampoo etc.
Cons: Buy bigger TV. Install external noise insulation. Include parking at more reasonable rates.
Location: It is right in the Loop and every major attraction or shopping is at a walking distance.
We were in Chicago to see Hamilton. The room was ready early and we had plenty of time to shower and get ready for the show. Staff was very friendly. The next morning we asked to see the Gold room and a staff member was happy to take us there and take some pictures for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Good stay at this hotel, well located in Chicago, but old rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic "vintage" hotel.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Front desk staff could be friendlier. No final bill was printed.
Good location and easy access from the La Salle subway station. Garbage bins were not emptied in our room by the cleaning person. $25 deposit per night was charged to my credit card upon check in and "will take a few days to be refunded".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location at a good price.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
It was an affordable way to be in downtown Chicago, within walking distance of the places where I wanted to go during my short visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Great, bathrooms not so great.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Took about 15 minutes for shower water to get warm. Not hot, warm. Hotel has a good vibe to it though. I would stay again. Don't order room service. Expensive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from banning

Comfy in Chicago

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Staying at the Congress hotel was great. Comfortable and clean and right on Michigan! We walked everywhere and had amazing views from our room. Cleaning staff in on top of it! The entire hotel and every time we came back to our room was so clean. And they were very accommodating with our needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Hotel was very nicely decorated, the rooms were clean and spacious. The employees were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis TN

Can’t beat the location

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Location location location. On Michigan Avenue across the street from the park and lake. Next to Navy Pier, Millinium Park and the Aquarium. Theatres, pubs and great restaurants. Shopping galore!!! The hotel has a nice bar serving a limited menus. Two restaurants a gift shop. There is folk lore of the hotel being haunted. Take the tour. Rooms are comfortable enough and clean. I had a great view of the lake. Room service is good.