Ratings based on 892 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Location, restaurants
Cons: Update bathrooms
Nice location - near Millieum Park, Chicago Art Institute
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
An affordable option close to lots of sights and just across from Buckingham Fountain and Grant Park. It has a beautiful lobby and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff could be a little more helpful. Overall a great value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Old time splendor

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: It's just beautiful. Great location too.
Cons: Some peeling wall paper and paint in the lobby and cracked tiles in the bathroom. To be expected of a building of this age.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Beautiful view of the lake.
This hotel is beautiful if you want olde time charm. The staff was really helpful. We made an error in our online booking. The front desk staff took pity on us and gave us an upgrade to a suite. The beds were beautiful antiques. Linens were lovely. Hotel is famous for being haunted. Didn't see any ghosts but maybe next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Awesome hotel downtown (for the price)

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Unbeatable location, just in front of Millenium Park. Hotel in good condition. Excellent value for what you pay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good place if you're just looking for a good sleep

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Staff was great, beds were comfy.
Cons: Elevator upgrade. Bathroom fixes.
Location: Pretty central to all the nice touristy spots.
Real quick easy check in. Elevators are a little sketchy for the south tower. Walked into the room to the smell of fresh paint that slowly went away as the week ended. Beds are really comfy though. Shower was leaking onto the floor which lead to an excessive use of towels to pick it up so, we didn't slip and fall. Overall it was great as just a place to crash late night for a decent price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. louis

Love it

Posted Sep 22, 2017
This is great place to stay. Walking distance to many parks and attractions. Beautiful historical rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: comfort
The hotel is absolutely stunning inside. You need to ask for permission to visit and explore the halls as this hotel has one of the most beautiful interiors I have seen in midwest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Check in went smooth. I was meet at front by doorman who pointed me in the right direction. After giving my name and credit card I was on my way. My room was cool and clean. Parking was easy, attendants was very courteous and on duty 24/7. check out,, walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Congress Plaza Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Location: Grant Park Chicago Art Institute train lines close.
Great location, easy to get everywhere. It was wonderful to be across from the Art Institute and the Parks. Beds comfortable and bathroom OK, altho the King room had a comfort height toilet and seemed bigger than the 2 double room. Hotel pretty old and nothing fancy... but the price was right - saved us for all the delicious meals in Chicago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely, old world charm and excellent location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
This is a beautiful place to stay inside and out. We had an amazing view of the Buckingham Fountain and the room was spacious with lovely decor. We would definitely stay here again