Ratings based on 1,771 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Love this very historic hotel Great view of Grant park and the city Stayed here 3 times Always my first choice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Jan 21, 2018
As soon as we walked into the room it was really hot. Turned the heat off immediately, called the front desk and they told us the windows open 3 inches. Turns out only 2 small side windows open up 3 inches but the big window does not. The room isn’t that clean, uncomfortable bed, basic pillow sheets. Being a hotel from the 1890’s you’d expect them to take care of it and give it a nice vintage look and care for it but they don’t. The room with the heat off and windows open is extremely hot, it’s 40 degree weather too! Our floor smells like someone just smoked weed. Not even a fridge in the room, and water is $4. This room really sucks especially for being downtown and a landmark. Don’t recommend it at all. The valet parking associates are rude and unpleasant. Stay away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Very old hotel, lovely but the beds were so hard. A simple fix would be a foam mattress topper!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Old dame of chicago

Posted Jan 18, 2018
I love this hotel. Kind of hotel you rarely see anymore. It was built 100 years ago and it shows. Real wide halways, staircases everywhere, tiny old elevators. The rooms are all remodeled but the elevators have not. The elevators broke down 3 times when i was there. I took the stairs a lot. Lol. The location was great though. The park and lake in front and plenty of restaurants all around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful view

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Make sure you ask for a Lakeside view. My favorite hotel to stay in in Chicago.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price and location

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: cheap and great location
Cons: heat control and water temp control. Also, an in hotel fast food place would be awesome because the vending machines don't work ever!
We also stay here because the price is cheap. The only issues we always have it that we don't have control of our heat, except low, medium, high and off, no temp control. Also, issues with water temperature. Took forever to get hot water and then couldn't get cool or cold water out of the sink to brush our teeth.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again at Congress Hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2018
This place is out of control. We've stayed there many times and were quite happy. Congress Hotel has deteriorated badly. Starting with the doorman barking orders at me. He looked like somebody out of a bad comedy movie. Absolutely rude! There have been management changes here and it is now a different hotel. I confirmed this with idle conversations with some lower level staff. Congress Hotel - Never again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2018
worst hotel ever!NO AC, water, and slipper, old room, style, and furniture. bad, bad, bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitowoc, WI

Good Location

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Outdated, uncomfortable.
Location: Near millenium park, near aquarium.
Our room was "upgraded" but it turned out we met the people who were in the room before us who got upgraded because the heater wasn't working. We went to the front desk to request a different room and they sent us a space heater. The heater was blowing cold air during a time the temperature was below zero. The next morning the manager refunded our room because we froze. The bed was not comfortable. The only redeeming quality was that this hotel is in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and a good night’s rest

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Even though the hotel is old, it is charming, quiet, and comfortable.