Ratings based on 3,407 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with Amazing service and spa!

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: The room was spacious and had an ironing board and expresso machine. The view from the room was stunning. My deep tissue massage at the spa -excellent
Location: We are right in the heart of things, in the loop!
I arrived with an online Expedia booking...I booked as I was landing at 7:20 am. I was there for a 2 day shoot and was certain that I would spend my morning and early afternoon waiting for a room. I was so pleasantly surprised ! Got to the hotel, was checked in immediately. I chose to upgrade to a Gold level room for less than $50. GREAT!!! $50 spa credit ...free breakfast at the lounge and internet. The service was excellent and friendly. The location and views from the room were superb. I had a room on the 16th floor. The spa was amazing. I travel extensively and in high end hotels. This hotel is warm, unpretentious yet offers beautiful rooms and service. Good job, Fairmont!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear MLB, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that your arrival was smooth and sounds like your stay only got better. I am so glad you could carve out some time for a spa treatment. I hope you can come back to Chicago again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfect for visit to THE CITY

Posted Feb 11, 2018
The location or felt, the room clean and very spacious
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear MAmaW, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially the accommodations and the location. I hope you were able to check off everything on your Chicago to do list. I hope you can come back to Chicago again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Great location, recently renovated room, suite was spacious and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations. We love how our rooms are turning out and I am happy that you agree. I hope you are able to return to the Windy City again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Perfect location!

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Location and friendly staff! Most impressive is a member of the housekeeping staff addressed me by name upon leaving my room! :)
Cons: Service in the Columbus Tap Room could be better.
Location: Walk to Millenium Park. Loved the ice skating rink with free lessons! Restaurants nearby - Tavern on the Park, Giordanos Pizza, Stans Donuts!
We loved the location! WIthin walking distance of good restaurants, sites and shopping! The only downside was, if you use Uber, they seemed to have a difficult time with GPS finding the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Maureen, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and sounds like you made the most of our location. Sadly GPS doesn't take into account multi-tier streets can be a bit challenging in our neighborhood. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great ballroom for a wedding!

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Location Staff Ballroom
Cons: The plugs in the room not close enough to the beds. Made plugging in devices to read in bed difficult. Food at the wedding was not great.
Location: Great location - near all the main attractions.
We attended a wedding for the weekend. Loved the downstairs bar, location, room was nice and comfortable. Valet parking was VERY expensive - we should have just used Uber and NOT rented a car. Food at the wedding was OK - not great. Brunch on Sunday was much better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear HobieGirl, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am so happy that enjoyed the wedding. I appreciate your feedback about the outlets. Comments like yours have lead us to order lamps that have more outlets for our guests. The hotel was built in 1987 when guests plugged in their electric razor or curling iron. Since then we have all acquired several devices that need electricity. In our last remodel we added multiple lamps to each room with outlets and we are in the process of adding even more. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large room, helpful staff

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Room was large and bathroom was big and very nice; however the furniture was a little shabby and carpet worn, but the linen was clean. We were cold and the staff responded immediately to correct it. It was very nice to have a $50. Credit at the restaurant. The drinks were good and the food was delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be responsive to your concerns. Temperature is a touch measurement as each guest has a slightly different preference. However, I am so glad that we were able to quickly resolve the issue. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

NEW YEARS 2018

Posted Jan 2, 2018
My stay was excellent went to Chicago to celebrate the New Year had an amazing time and a great stay. Everyone was friendly from the checkin to the check out. I de magnetized my room key and security was fast and friendly. Awesome stay at an awesome hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear Renee, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia and Happy New Year. It is an honor to have been a part of your celebration. It is a joy being a part of our guests' favorite memories and we hope to part of more of your special moments in the future. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Great location. Some of the furniture in the room worn down but still very comfortable/nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am so glad that the hotel was conveniently located to everything on your Chicago 'Must See' List. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Great staff, professional & courteous!
Cons: Condition of room. There was a blue/green discoloration in the tile floor/wall edges in shower (mold?), carpet stains & peeling headboard.
Location: Great to have the option of walking to the Magnificent Mile.
Spent two nights at the hotel. Was able to walk to restaurants & shopping. The staff was wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia.com. I am thrilled that you found the staff professional and courteous as well as the location convenient to the Magnificent Mile. I hope you can come back to the Windy City again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milwaukee

Aging property

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Property is aging and needs upgrades. Had to walk up thre escalators from ground parking because they were inoperable. Furniture in room was tattered and worn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Fred Pare, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. Our mission is to exceed our guests' expectations. When we miss this mark, the best way for us to improve for your next stay is your comments. I hope your travels bring you back to the Windy City again soon. Kind Regards, Fred Pare Director of Operations