Ratings based on 5,728 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Was OK but the staff was awesome and very helpful

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very clean, walking distance was great as it was close to shopping, the train and the waterfront. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Fridge in the room, a restaurant with better selection of food, more coffee/tea pods- 2 of us 1 tea and 2 coffee in the room only
Location: the location seemed to be very close to all the things we were looking to do. lots of shopping & close to the navy pier and lots of parks to walk in
We thought the hotel was only ok, rooms were alright, clean but dated furniture. We thought there would be a hard rock restaurant on site, there was not. they had two places non hard rock area's to eat in butchers were more lounge at night/ resturant during day sites. One side closed the kitchen very early and turned into a lounge only, the other was a very small site another lounge with live music and the food was only burger and fries style. The food was good in both venues but neither would be a place i would return to unless looking for live jazz close to the hotel, as we arrived late and were not wanting to wander too far to find food. Only bad part of arriving late was that as well with the lounge right next to the lobby it was very hard to hear when we were checking in. Next day we stopped in the hard rock on site store and they has well only had t-shirts and casual clothes for sale and no hard rock logo on dress shirts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Arron, Hotel Management
Sharon, Thank you for your recent stay with the Hard Rock Hotel Chicago! We appreciate also your recent review. We are always striving to better our guest’s stays, so all reviews are appreciated. We are going through and investing time and resources into improving our property, and we are not finished yet! We hope that you will come back and see us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but problematic Internet

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The room is nice and clean, what you can't say on the corridor... The Internet is free, but not really useful- so if you are there for business- you have a problem
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Arron, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with the Hard Rock Hotel Chicago! We appreciate also your recent review. We are always striving to better our guest’s stays, so all reviews are appreciated. We are going through and investing time and resources into improving our property, and we are not finished yet! We hope that you will come back and see us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Great hotel, great view and wonderful staff. Loved my stay at the hard Rock and definitely will be back next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by HRHC, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for your kind feedback. We will be thrilled to have you back! Rock on, HRHC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The rooms are clean and large. Very comfortable and a convenient location to all the activities that Chicago has to offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Arron, Hotel Management
Barbara-Ann, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write your comments, and to give us this positive review. Our staff is very much dedicated to providing exceptional customer service for every guest, every time. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The hotel was in a great location. Landmark building. Room was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Arron, Hotel Management
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write your comments, and to give us this positive review. Our staff is very much dedicated to providing exceptional customer service for every guest, every time. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

I was expecting something better

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The bathroom had few items loose. The windows were dirty, from the exterior. There was a bit of smell in the room, nothing really bad, but something that could have been avoided. There was no possibility to regulate the A/C.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Arron, Hotel Management
Pablo, Thank you for your recent stay with the Hard Rock Hotel Chicago! We appreciate also your recent review. We are always striving to better our guest’s stays, so all reviews are appreciated. We are going through and investing time and resources into improving our property, and we are not finished yet! We hope that you will come back and see us again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macomb MI

Chicago weekend

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Decent location to walk everywhere.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room versus having to find out you have to ask for them. Sheets won't stay on mattress!
Location: Walking distance within Navy Pier and riverwalk.
We decided to drive to Chicago - so anyone driving make sure you are prepared to pay an extremely high amount of money to park your car -- hotels don't cover any portion of that amount. Traffic extremely congested, so my advice is to either take bus, train or plane. We had to ask for a tiny fridge -- doesn't come with the room. The bathroom really needs an overhaul - new grout, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Arron, Hotel Management
Heidi, We want to thank you for your kind words and 5 star review! We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very please with our stay. Staff was very friendly. Will definitely stay here again the next time we visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Arron, Hotel Management
Jen, We want to thank you for your kind words and 5 star review! We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to shopping and restaurants

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel was within a fifteen minute walk of many restaurants, Millenium Park, and the Michigan Ave shopping district. Restaurants located inside hotel were convenient and friendly with fair prices and great food. Staff was a bit aloof but that could be viewed as normal for a large city when my entire hometown could fit inside just Chicago's ball field. Overall a pleasant experience-could have only wished for a pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by HRHC, Hotel Management
Hi Ashley! Thank you for your feedback. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us; it sounds like you took full advantage of our amenities! We hope to see you again soon. Rock on, HRHC
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Stayed there twice and liked the experience both times. Unfortunately, my second stay was during Lollapalooza, which I wasn't aware of when I booked and a few of the festival-goers staying at the hotel were loud at all hours of the night. But still a nice stay, nice staff, comfortable bed, nice room. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Arron, Hotel Management
We want to thank you for the kind words and choosing the Hard Rock Hotel Chicago! We can't wait to see you again!