Ratings based on 2,231 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara Region, ON

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Very clean and pleasant central location very close to the river and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham

great staff, great location

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: In room coffee maker
Location: most things within walking distance, bars restaurants parks
Had five days here in October, hotel is in great location for exploring the city on foot and plenty of bars and restaurants around it as well as its own on site restaurant and bar which were both very good. the staff were fantastic very friendly and helpfull, nothing was to much trouble. As it was our anniversary while at the hotel we received a personal card and bottle of bubbly in our room on arrival which was a nice touch. Would recommend the upgrade to the river view room, which was well worth the extra as the view was excellent over trump tower and the river. I am already looking at a return visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great hotel in a. Enteral location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The hotel was located perfectly for our purpose of exploring the city with the river views we hoped for and great access to the L, subway, Millenium Park, Michigan Avenue and many of the architectural highlights of the downtown area. Our room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable with a choice of pillows. The two bay windows with upholstered seating and cushions to make people watching on the street and bridge below were a great surprise. The bathroom was huge, but we assume this was to provide disabled access. Our room did therefore not have a bathtub, but this was not a problem. Loved the make-up mirror! Happy hour in the lobby was a welcome treat at the end of the afternoon. The staff at Reception we’re very friendly and helpful and the doormen we met were also welcoming and full of advice about where to go and where to perhaps avoid on a Saturday evening, which we appreciated as this was our first visit to Chicago. We would very happily recommend this hotel to other travelers and would stay here again without hesitation. It is a great boutique hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Great area. doormen were very helpful

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: cleanliness and location
Cons: nothing
Location: great location
Enjoyed the downtown area. Great location. Doormen were very helpful and knowledgeable regarding restaurants and attractions close by. Room was very nice/ beds very comfortable. Walking distance to the river walk and magnificent mile shops on Michigan avenue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AMAZING!!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Travel a lot and this Hotel FAR exceeded our expectations! Hotel staff is very warm and welcoming and knowledgeable of area with good recommendations. Everything within walking distance. On the river with great views. Recommend the Mediterranean Suite with River view. This is a must stay hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Great hotel and location!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The hotel staff was among the friendliest I've ever met. Hotel was clean and in a great, central location. Easy access to the mile and directly across the street from the river. Our room was clean and spacious. Cool window seat to hop up on and people watch below. Bed was very comfortable (hard to get up out of in the morning!) and the room was very quiet. I travel to Chicago often-- This hotel made my short list of places I'll stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
It's a solid 4 star hotel...good location near the river walk. There are nicer hotels at this price point, but this is not a bad choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Only issue was being placed in a handicap bathroom without a regular shower head and flooded a bit from the way the shower was designed. Other than that it was an overall good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thank you for the good review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay, and we apologize for the little flood issues you had! We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great hotel in a very central location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Wonderful room with a river view and window seat. Staff very polite and helpful and free bike hire was a bonus that allowed us to explore the river walk and Navy Pier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks for your great review Mark! We're glad you got a chance to take advantage of some of our fun amenities and enjoyed your time in Chicago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Kimpton quality

Posted Sep 9, 2017
I have never been let down by a Kimpton property, & the Hotel Monaco Chicago was no exception. Great location, comfortable room, and terrific staff. I will be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thanks Heather! We're so happy we were able to keep up our end of the bargain as your expectations are concerned. We hope you continue to travel with Kimpton, and that we continue to keep you comfortable while you do!