Ratings based on 9,596 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brad Napp on IMDb

Beautiful

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: History
Cons: Perfect
Location: Perfect
Check in was easy, room was great, bar was nice, food was good, everyone was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Telluride, CO

great hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: everything
Hotel was close to everything. Great service at hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michign

Great ocation

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Walking distance from Amtrak, and three blocks from the South Shore Mellinnium Station. In the theater district, and excellent dining nearby. Our new “TO TO” Chicagohotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Room

Posted Dec 10, 2017
I found a pair of dirty socks on the floor when I walked in the room. The mattress was soft and it made me roll toward the center of the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st paul mb

Fabulous hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Palmer House has always been my favorite hotel when visiting Chicago. Classic property always top notch with customer service second to none
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Everything was wonderful, would totally stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Went to Chicago to see Hamilton. I first stayed at the Palmer House when I was a young boy. It is still elegant and charming, and conveniently located right in the middle of the theatre district. I recommend that you upgrade from a standard room. This advice is not unique to this hotel; it is something I would suggest for every older hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Incredible location, not updated, good for price

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Cons: The grouting in the bathroom really should be kept up. It's not expensive to do, and it should never be black with mold.
Location: Spectacular location.
This is not a hotel that you spend a lot of money because it's all perfect and new. It's an older hotel with an incredible location down the street from the Chicago Art Institute (the best museum in the world), and you can get rooms that don't cost a fortune. They may have updated the more expensive rooms, and the lobby etc is certainly fine. I liked it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice Historic Hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
We had an great stay. The only issue is that the plumbing may need updating. The water in the sink and tub was slow to drain. Also the water pressure in one of the bathrooms was weak. Would I stay here again, yes. Would I recommend this establishment, yes😊. Bernard the bell hop was outstanding. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and helpful!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

The grande dame of hotels

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Stately, older, glamorous...all describe Chicago’s Palmer House. The lobby bar is the place to see and be seen and the hotel is perfectly situated near museums, theater, and shopping. And it’s just a block or so from the CTA blue line train to and from O’Hare. If you need a television in the bathroom or morning room service, this isn’t the place for you. But I wouldn’t go anyplace else.