Ratings based on 9,128 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, ON

Exceptional deal to stay in the heart of Chicago

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Great price when coupled with flight package, gorgeous lobby, close to everything. Staff was amazing and couldn't be more accommodating.
Cons: Hotel rooms are small, shabby and need updating. Free wi-fi only offered in lobby or if you were a Hilton Honours guest.
Location: Very close to everything! Walking distance to Millennium Park, Navy Pier, shopping,restaurants. Subway is close and easily accessible.
Our large group of 12 stayed at the Palmer House hotel, which was ideally located in the heart of downtown and close to, or within easy access to all Chicago has to offer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Farmington Hills. MI

Beautiful Hotel, Horrible Room

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Hotel is big a beautiful The workout area, swim area and locker area is awesome Restaurant and bar area is awesome Staff is helpful and friendly
Cons: The appearance of the rooms should be updated
Location: Perfect location. Can easily to anywhere is the downtown area by walking, bus, cab
We walked into the hotel and it was beautiful, grand even. Then we go to our room and: 1. No Refrigerator (we could have one sent up for $40) 2. No Microwave 3. No coffee maker 4. We ran out of toilet paper and the staff did not replace. There wasn't even any extra in the bathroom 5. No pen or notepad 6. Wall paper peeling off of the bathroom walls 7. 1 very thin bar soap for 3 people Maybe this is standard for Downtown Chicago hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

beautiful hotel in the heart

Posted Aug 21, 2017
great hotel, close to transit and the theatre district. walking distance to alot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Close to a lot of things

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Nice breakfast and bar. Awesome service and architecture design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

A return visit

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Lobby, location (and just for me, memories)
My wife and I had stayed there many times, and I have so many nice memories. She recently died and our two sons and I were visiting Chicago. It was sweet to recall the familiar hotel with its great lobby and wonderful location. Just as good as always. Actually with improved rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ont. Canada

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Location: Easy to find right out of transit stop. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. Millennium park is a block away.
Amazing location downtown Chicago. Extremely close to transit stop. Lots of attractions within walking distance. Super nice hotel, very fancy. Staff are all very friendly and welcoming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from western Michigan

Tired hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
It is a historic hotel in a great location but many of the rooms and bathrooms are small and very tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Cons: Room coffee maker
Very convenient to theaters, el, museums, restaurants. Expedia did not do an accurate job on the reservation names, but the staff diligently resolved the problem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Great location close to the art institute and other attractions and restaurants. Beautiful hotel. Wish the service was better, didn't have a hair dryer. Asked for one took 2 calls and about 35 minutes to get it. Bellman was on the rude side and stank of cigarettes. Would return and hope for a better overall experience but the hotel and room were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in great location. Love the atmosphere.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Arrived before check in time and were immediately given access to our room. Staff was very accommodating especially concierge who gave us printed instructions each day to the desired destination. Second stay with the Palmer House and hope to visit them again.