Ratings based on 1,627 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st charles il

Great hotel tucked in the theater district

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Found the Wit by chance when we wanted a hotel to stay at after a show and it turned out great !! Wonderful staff, great location and an overall fabulous experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Nice hotel in the middle of everything. Easy walk to attractions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Disappointing

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Room was a mess. Bathroom door off the tracks. Not ability to adjust temperature. Furniture was very dirty and made me wonder how dirty the rest of the place was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rockford Il

Posted Nov 10, 2017
The Wit is the only Hotel we stay at while in Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Romantic night downtown

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, bathtub, room size
Cons: Very dry, needed humidifier
Location: Perfect location, transportation with the L right outside, plenty of local restaurants and in the heart of the city with views of the lake and river
Spent a romantic night downtown celebrating my wife's birthday. It was a great location and easily accessible to public transportation. Hotel was great and the room was perfect. Great big tub for 2 and comfy bed. Great night that we will remember for a long time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville, Il

Great downtown location

Posted Nov 2, 2017
The location is great. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was quite and very clean. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I’ve ever had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Lovely, funky, gorgeous hotel in downtown Chicago

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The decor, the staff, the location.
My two friends and I spent a wonderful weekend at theWit. The staff was kind and helpful and they texted me which was kind of hilarious. The rooftop bar was great, and I loved the overall decor of the place, so much cooler than your standard, lowest-common-denominator hotel interiors. A great place to come back to at the end of every day in the city...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Good location, that's about it. Room was very dirty. The attaches bar - the hostess was extremely snobby and treated us lime we weren't good enough to eat there. Overall bad experience. We ended up checking out early to finish our vacation at another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Warm, Welcoming and hospitable!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
There are some good people working there! Fun environment, delicious cookies!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel for the marathon

Posted Oct 12, 2017
The hotel was nice, clean and classy. However the A/C in the room never got cool enough at night to have a comfortable full night's sleep. Add on top of that a very poor experience for dinner at State/Lake, the hotel bar/restaurant, and this went from what could have been a great hotel experience to an incredibly mediocre one.