Ratings based on 3,818 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please read before booking

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Cons: The entire hotel needs updates, rooms are not cozy or homely like
Location: It was close to the attractions we attended downtown
This is an OLD hotel that truly NEEDS updates. I stayed there for 2 nights and was switched to 5 different rooms in the matter of 2 nights. I was there during New Year Eve weekend and the weather was at its highest of 8 degrees. 2 rooms the heater did not work, 1 room reeked of smoke(which there are signs on the doors that say no smoking), another room had dirty sheets, and the last room was just okay. Since the building is older you have to let your shower water run for 12-15mins BEFORE you can even get warm water. I was not happy with this stay at all and the fact that there was no a GM on site for me to address this with was not cool either. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is not worth the money. Nothing in the hotel is up to date.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent for the cost

Posted Dec 30, 2017
This is a clean, comfortable and spacious hotel. The staff were really nice and it's in an excellent location around the corner from Michigan Ave and really close to things like Field Museum and the Art Institute. It makes walking to the big attractions really easy. Water pressure in the shower could be better but the rooms are really clean and comfy so that made up for it tenfold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smyrna, DE

Great value in a convenient location!

Posted Dec 24, 2017
This hotel is located close to Millennium Park, Symphony Hall, many colleges and universities and very reasonably priced. Room was spacious and had everything necessary. Great choice for a visit to Chicago on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In downtown

Posted Dec 20, 2017
The windows could be cleaner, the AC and heater needs a bit of improvement but other than that, everything else went by smooth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The rooms and getting a fridge.
Location: Everything was near by if you like walking a little bit! I loved the location and getting exercise.
I was pleased with my stay and the staff were very welcoming and nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Hotel with many problems

Posted Dec 4, 2017
The room was clean but I had so many problems with my room. I got the room number 1215, I had many problems, the shower does not get much water, it is impossible to take a relaxing bath in it. the room had some construction pipes on display, and these pipes made unbearable noises at night making me wake up all night, loud noises as if I had a construction in the room, I could not sleep all night and had a 4am flight. terrible night. the airport was more quieter than the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: warm and clean
Cons: heating system is very noisy.
fair....................................................................................
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montrose, MI

It was Okay and very close to the Mag mile

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Front desk and concierge was very nice and helpful which helped
Cons: Room was VERY small, room service came in but did not vacuum which the stuff was there on arrival. Bathroom floor was cracked, mirror was stained
Location: Very close to everything good walking distances
Room was VERY small, room service came in but did not vacuum which the stuff was there on arrival. Bathroom floor was cracked, mirror was stained. Front desk and concierge was very nice and helpful which helped
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Horribly LOUD, disruptive train noises

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Cons: Move the hotel to a new location away from the old train.
The nearby old, elevated train's banging and rumbling noises from 6:00 am to 11:30 pm was horribly loud. Even though the room was on the 12th floor, the noise was so loud and intense that it was frightening, and totally disturbing regardless of what I was doing. In over 43 years of staying in various grades of hotels for business and personal trips, I have never experienced such a bad stay because of the train noise. This is the first negative hotel review I have ever written, but the very excessive noise condition surely warrants it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice location, price, BUT...

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Location, price
Cons: better bedding, noisy pipes
Location: Restaurants, park, subway, Michigan Ave.
Very noise heater pipes made it impossible to sleep at night. Asked for a room change at 2 AM and were moved next door with pretty much same problem. Stayed at hotel for price and location convenience. Clean room, standard bedding.