Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Dogs allowed Friendly staff Close to the forest
Cons: N/A
Location: Pubs, Thetford forest
The most important thing for us was that dogs were allowed. Our Labrador absolutely loved staying here, the staff were incredibly friendly towards us and the dog which made our stay really enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Basic hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast but only two mushrooms! It was warm.
Cons: General upgrade upstairs. The double bed was small. The duvet needed to be bigger.
Location: Stayed here to be near family. Visited Thetford Forest, Blickling, Bury St Edmonds.
We stayed here to visit family . We found the ground floor of the hotel to be fine but the room shabby and disappointing, not like the web site at all. No supplies were renewed in the bathroom. The floor wasn't hoovered properly. The window wouldn't close properly on the coldest nights of the year. The noise from wedding guests smoking out side came through the open window on Friday night and disturbed our sleep until 3am. Most of the staff were lovely, smiley and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Good service
Cons: A lirrle bit of modernisation could help
Room felt a little cool but duvet was very good.nice size.. room also.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: The cost was in keeping with the experience , room was clean and comfortable although dated , breakfast was fine .
Cons: Staff training in all areas would be advantageous , together with some general maintenance . Our sink plug had no chain so water remained in sink .
There was a very rowdy wedding party as we arrived in the evening which meant we found it impossible to get served and order a meal at the bar area , the lone barmaid was not coping and seemed to have problems with the till ..My wife and i left after 20 minutes waiting and ate at a nearby restaurant ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brittany, France

Good for a stopover en route to Norwich.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: See the above.
Cons: Nit picking! There wasn’t anyone manning the Bar when I wanted a drink.
Location: I found Thetford really disappointing. Weatherspoons was the only decent pub and eating out facilities were severely limited. Norwich rescued the day.
This was just an overnight stopover. The hotel was friendly, clean and comfortable. It was also relatively easy to find and had on site parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Quiet overnight stay

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Location, charm, friendly staff
Cons: Updating bathrooms, cleaning the outside wall of the building on the riverside
Location: Nice little park just across the river, also a small cinema and restaurant (that I wouldn't recommend) Great for a quiet weekend!
I was a bit worried about this hotel due to many very nasty reviews I had read, however, upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. It is an old Inn so don't expect top of the art, modern decoration but it is charming. The room and bathroom were a good size. The bathroom deserves an update but was clean. The bath was low, which can be very useful for people with walking issues. The breakfast: pastries were lovely, the hot food was a bit disappointing as it clearly was frozen food. My friend had the full english breakfast and was happy with it. I went for the waffles and was disappointed at the quality of them. The location was very nice, along the river (our room was overlooking the river), in a quiet area. Just a shame that the other guests kept on slamming doors very late at night or very early on in the morning. Some people do like to sleep in on Sunday...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northampton

Great little hotel with lists of character

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Really enjoyed my stay and had a great nights sleep also found fantastic little place called cheers just up the road .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Comfortable room, friendly staff. Parking was easy. Stairs difficult with a suitcase.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

The Bell Hotel Thetford

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Room very disappointing toilet roll holder hanging off wall a very funny angle, strange smell in bathroom that should not have been there had it been cleaned properly. The room in general required a good cleaning. Hotel had a tired feel to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sevenoaks

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
The hotel was very comfortable and nicely situated. The breakfast was very nice. The only criticism we have is we couldn't get a drink after 10.30 . We had had a long day and got back to the hotel looking forward to a nice relaxing nightcap only to be told the bar had just closed, even to residents