Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Pros: Relaxed friendly atmosphere
Cons: Staffing levels
Location: Center of Thetford with plenty of restaurants and things to do all within walking distance.
A pleasant comfortable Hotel in the center of Thetford with no problems parking. The only criticism was that it was badly understaffed both in the bar and restaurant otherwise the staff were friendly and provided the best service that they could under the circumstances.. At no time during our stay did we see the manager who was conspicuous by his absence. All in all we had a pleasant stay and would definitely use the hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by ., Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Paul. I am sorry if you felt we were understaffed, as with all businesses we are only given a limited budget for wages so have to be careful with what we do. I myself was on Annual leave During this time and had rota'd on enough staff however due to illness some staff did not arrive for there shifts and this did put pressure on the team. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future and are glad you had a pleasant stay. Regards Marlon Sherman General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

good hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2018
have stayed there 3 times been looked after well, nice comfy beds handy to the railway station and the town. a bit under staffed at times and the bar prices a bit over the top but they do have a £4.99 good bar menu.will use again if the price is right
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by ., Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and are working to resolve the issues you have highlited. Regards Marlon Sherman General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

food. Both evenings food excellent

Posted Feb 22, 2018
As above the food in the restaurant was excellent, the actual dining room lacks Atmosphere so ate in the coffe bar snug area which was more cosy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Dogs allowed Friendly staff Close to the forest
Cons: N/A
Location: Pubs, Thetford forest
The most important thing for us was that dogs were allowed. Our Labrador absolutely loved staying here, the staff were incredibly friendly towards us and the dog which made our stay really enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Ian

Mid-week in December

Posted Dec 29, 2017 on Hotels
Only staying for one night mid-week and was initially concerned with some of the lower rating but we found no real issues with the hotel at all as indicated by our 4/5 scores. I have no problem recommending this hotel based on our (admittedly short) stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Basic hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast but only two mushrooms! It was warm.
Cons: General upgrade upstairs. The double bed was small. The duvet needed to be bigger.
Location: Stayed here to be near family. Visited Thetford Forest, Blickling, Bury St Edmonds.
We stayed here to visit family . We found the ground floor of the hotel to be fine but the room shabby and disappointing, not like the web site at all. No supplies were renewed in the bathroom. The floor wasn't hoovered properly. The window wouldn't close properly on the coldest nights of the year. The noise from wedding guests smoking out side came through the open window on Friday night and disturbed our sleep until 3am. Most of the staff were lovely, smiley and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Good service
Cons: A lirrle bit of modernisation could help
Room felt a little cool but duvet was very good.nice size.. room also.
4 out of 5
by Brian

okay one night stopover

Posted Dec 8, 2017 on Hotels
nothing to write home about, place had the feel of better days gone about it. One big problem was that I found a spider in my bed which did not please me.
4 out of 5
by Rob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: The cost was in keeping with the experience , room was clean and comfortable although dated , breakfast was fine .
Cons: Staff training in all areas would be advantageous , together with some general maintenance . Our sink plug had no chain so water remained in sink .
There was a very rowdy wedding party as we arrived in the evening which meant we found it impossible to get served and order a meal at the bar area , the lone barmaid was not coping and seemed to have problems with the till ..My wife and i left after 20 minutes waiting and ate at a nearby restaurant ...