Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Poor stay, dated and worn, try elsewhere

Posted Jun 10, 2018
This is a really dated building that's in poor condition. In some places, despite that, the staff seemed to be trying to make it better. There were some glaring missed bits (dead insects all over the window and really poorly cleaned glass around the hotel) but over all the cleanliness level in the room was far better than the old decor and units would have suggested. The staff were really hit and miss for service. The woman who checked me in was great - polite, friendly and juggling a queue really well. The breakfast staff seemed nice but the service was utterly chaotic, the food very poor (where available - lots of things empty) and they seemed to need a good bit of direction including a total relook at the way they worked to be more efficient. Would recommend eating out for breakfast as the food quality was that dire. The bar tender was great in terms of chat and service but was very clearly and vocally frustrated with management (missing allergens lists and moved about bar stock) and disappearing young staff (20 min cigarette break with no notice), however her quality of service was great. One young staff member was seen parking in the hotel disabled car parking space (no badge) which is fine if that's their policy but looks bad to guests We seemed to be there when a bar was being renovated but there seemed to be confusion from the staff when the replacement bar was switching... I think they chose to do it early but the whole bar then smelt of paint and was quite sickenin
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Pros: Relaxed friendly atmosphere
Cons: Staffing levels
Location: Center of Thetford with plenty of restaurants and things to do all within walking distance.
A pleasant comfortable Hotel in the center of Thetford with no problems parking. The only criticism was that it was badly understaffed both in the bar and restaurant otherwise the staff were friendly and provided the best service that they could under the circumstances.. At no time during our stay did we see the manager who was conspicuous by his absence. All in all we had a pleasant stay and would definitely use the hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by ., Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Paul. I am sorry if you felt we were understaffed, as with all businesses we are only given a limited budget for wages so have to be careful with what we do. I myself was on Annual leave During this time and had rota'd on enough staff however due to illness some staff did not arrive for there shifts and this did put pressure on the team. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future and are glad you had a pleasant stay. Regards Marlon Sherman General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

good hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2018
have stayed there 3 times been looked after well, nice comfy beds handy to the railway station and the town. a bit under staffed at times and the bar prices a bit over the top but they do have a £4.99 good bar menu.will use again if the price is right
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by ., Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and are working to resolve the issues you have highlited. Regards Marlon Sherman General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2018 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, facilities lacking

Posted Feb 28, 2018 on Hotels
The double bed was in fact two singles pushed together and very uncomfortable, definitely in need of replacement. Staff were lovely but did disrupt our meeting at times. Shower needed a proper shower head, you basically felt like you were stood in front of a busted fire hydrant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

food. Both evenings food excellent

Posted Feb 22, 2018
As above the food in the restaurant was excellent, the actual dining room lacks Atmosphere so ate in the coffe bar snug area which was more cosy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business friendly

Posted Feb 8, 2018 on Hotels
Great parking facilities. Lovely breakfast with fast service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Dogs allowed Friendly staff Close to the forest
Cons: N/A
Location: Pubs, Thetford forest
The most important thing for us was that dogs were allowed. Our Labrador absolutely loved staying here, the staff were incredibly friendly towards us and the dog which made our stay really enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Ian

Mid-week in December

Posted Dec 29, 2017 on Hotels
Only staying for one night mid-week and was initially concerned with some of the lower rating but we found no real issues with the hotel at all as indicated by our 4/5 scores. I have no problem recommending this hotel based on our (admittedly short) stay.