Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would visit again

Posted Feb 7, 2016
I made a reservation here as I was meeting an old friend who lives nearby and I was aware of the hotels Dads Army connection. Having made the reservation I read some reviews and found that some were not good. Well my experience was overwhelmingly positive. Check in was quick, efficient and friendly. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was of a high standard and on both mornings the waitresses were great, they worked very hard to meet all requests. I was out and about during my stay but visited the bar one evening and the beer, speckled hen, was well kept. The hotel has character and a good location with parking. I recommend the Bell without hesitation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Hertfordshire

Seen better days

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: Food hygiene at breakfast time - re-heating sausages which had been cooked hours previously is not to be recommended.
Location: 30 miles from Norwich and a bit over an hour from the coast - turned out to be a bad choice.
Somewhat tired and in need a renovation - both inside and out. They are building a new Travelodge within 100 feet so looks like the Bell is being run down. The full English breakfast is to be avoided. Staff helpful and friendly and the deal was very reasonable but on balance I would have preferred to pay more for a better place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniel from Surrey

Nice food

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Room ok but bathroom not the best. Helpful staff,nice food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Nice hotel but river barge restaurant nearby noisy til early hours of morning at weekends...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Weekend away

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
Helpful and friendly staff. Reasonably priced good food. But instant mash with roast dinner!!! Very nice roast though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Albert from nottingham

good stay

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
great staff, good food at reasonable prices, good bar, room clean, good bed, bathroom needs revamp but clean, not very generous with toilteries, good to have clean towels every day (unlike some I have stayed in), generous with tea and coffee in the room, wife said the hair dryer was good, overall a very good stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Not a good experience

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: It was convenient for the family party I was attending.
Cons: Maintenance, cleanliness, staff training.
Location: Not applicable, I was only there for a family party.
I spent one night at The Bell. It felt generally grubby, my room had a large coffee stain on the carpet and a half painted wall. There were very noisy pipes. The bathroom door didn't fit the frame. On check out I didn't feel the Receptionist was concerned about the issues I raised. Two positive notes, the bed was comfortable and the Head Office responded very promptly to my complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

A functional visit

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The place really could do with a total refurbishment, ideally, raised to the ground and re-built.
Location: Thetford, what can I say! The locals clearly enjoy a beer but don't really need to share their discussions with visiting people at night.
This hotel was the place the cast and crew from Dad's Army used during the filming of the sitcom. It was clear on arrival, the facility had not been up graded since the show finished in the UK. It was tired, grubby and all in all, a sad looking place. The staff were fine, however, the reception was dirty; the counter was sticky which, for a first impression wasn't a good start. Gaining access to our room (44) was a bit disheartening as the route was as dirty as the reception. The room itself was clean but again, the well used impression stuck. The location of the hotel (no fault of the staff) was clearly on a route between the pubs and homes of the local populace. This was highlighted throughout the night when people leaving the pubs were having major arguements, shouting and screaming. A bad night for them (obviously) but for us aswell.