Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good value resort

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The accommodation isn't flash, but it is kept spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff
No need to go there for Ayuverdic treatment; you can simply go for a quiet and restful place to stay and to unwind. 20 minutes tuk-tuk ride from Kovalam beach/restaurants, and 5 -8 minutes walk to Chowara beach Only downside was being asked to smoke away from the pool area because other guests 'thought we're here to get healthy', even though it's an open area and you may be 20 metres away from anyone else! So be prepared to put up with the holier-than-thou attitudes of the 'worried well' from various parts of Europe. All in all, though, I'd recommend this place for a quiet holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

A former nice resort ruined by cheap tourists

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: The Ayurveda treatments are quite good.
Cons: Update the room and don't sell the rooms to cheap guests if you want your good guests to relax.
Location: The way to the beach is slippery and dirty, the beach just dirty. On the way everybody will try to sell you something.
According to the other reviews the resort wasn't so bad. Well, now it is. I booked the best room and got and outdated one half facing the pool and half facing a wall, so it was quite dark. At 6am in the morning hotel staff started moving furniture so I wasn't able to sleep. At 7am kids started using the pool with their clothes on. It seemed like they were washing it in there. The water is accordingly dirty. I asked to change the room to another one not close to the pool even though it doesn't have AC. The manager tried to help, but he was also limited by the bad resort he's managing. The new room was also noisy from 7:30am on. For the third night the manager offered to move me to another hotel. I declined and found one myself. He refunded me part of what I paid. Expedia didn't care about any of this and didn't give me a refund. I just got some self-loving text blocks back from them. Last time I used them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from johannesburg

My favourite hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, food , health centre, atmosphere
Cons: None. Any changes would spoil this little gems charm and character
Location: Lovely little village
My second visit to this hotel and not my last You don't go to Ideal for 5 star facilities but go for 5 star service, most pleasant atmosphere and tranquillity. Intimate hotel where every guest is important . All the staff from the Manager Shamer to Chef Binu to the security -seem to be hand picked . Great food , excellent therapist great hotel. Cannot wait for my next visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very helpful staff

Posted Nov 11, 2014
The Hotel Manager and staff are very helpful and always try to support where they can. Room at his cooperation Hotel pebble Beach Was Clean and had hot water:) The only thing I can not recommend is the restaurant. Maybe it is worth to check other options around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Relaxing Atmosphere

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Cons: The food quality can be improved.I was served cold food and that was kind of a disappointment.
This was possibly one of the best vacations I had in a very long time. Not only was the atmosphere please but the environment complimented it.Would love to visit it again.Definitely worth a second visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

Unique Ayurveda experience

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: we were very happy with our choice.
Cons: With a small touch of walls painting, and attention to details, Ideal will have nothing to envy from surrounding 4star hotels.
Location: 1) Fine dining at Maya, Trivandrum 2) Unforgettable breakfast in Manaltheeram hotel. 3) Shopping experience of gold and local fabrics in Chalia rd
We will always remember our stay at Ideal Ayurvedic Resort, as a blend of different experiences, mixing medicine, relaxed stay, short walks to the nearest beach and longer trips to the surrounding attractions. If you are looking for a luxurious stay, maybe Ideal Resort is not the one, but if you want to be pampered and looked after and offered high level ayurvedic treatments, medical care and stay in clean, comfortable rooms, in other words, if you want to spend a couple of weeks feeling like being part of a family, and not as a tourist, then look no further, and book your stay with Ideal Ayurvedic Resort. Advise: do not leave the hotel, unless you have tried the purgation treatment, among all other therapies. Uncomfortable in the beginning, it will gift you a new body and spirit. Abandon yourself to the sapient hands of the well- trained and qualified practitioners. Forget problems and misery of the city life. See the world through new prospective (everyone will always welcome you with a big smile). With special thanks to all of the staff, we greet you and renew our appointment for next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Panky from Delhi

Decent hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Price for the location
Hotel Manager was very cooperative and changed our hotel (different property) upon request.
2 out of 5
by trevor from Hull, UK

not to be recommended.

Posted Mar 13, 2013
Pros: the friendly staff and the nice pool,
Cons: mr grumpy
Location: not much in the way of facilities such as bars and restaurants close by and the walk back from the beach, which was not very good, was very steep.
shower was very poor, very little hot water, the windows would not even close never mind lock. some guests complained about not getting any hot water at all on some days. the man that seemed to be in charge hardly ever seemed to speak to anybody but the rest of the staff were very friendly. overall i enjoyed the holiday because i just wanted a relaxing time but the hotel could have been a lot better and i would not book there again.
2 out of 5
by Darren and Rae from Somerset, UK

Fine if you want a hostel and not a hotel.

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Lack of clarity about how much Ayurveda costs.There is a menu/tariff for treatments but you have to see a resident ayurvedic doctor before having any treatments and he adds costs on which you are not aware of until paying the bill. There is a very small kitchen which is not equipped to deal with around 30 guests. There is a large menu but what is on it is not available. There is a menu of the day, which is the same for every day. This consists of about 5 choices. If you want to drink a beer you have to request a day or two in advance and then it is warm. Food takes up to 2 hours to arrive after ordering and waiters do not speak very good English and may bring you something you didn't order. Breakfast consists of an omelette with white toast, fresh fruit juice (sometimes tastes of onions and garlic) and instant coffee. Hotel is very basic and looks nothing like the pictures they provide. The manager does not speak English and does not seem interested in the guests at all. We moved out to a very lovely hotel in Kovalam after one week. The room is very small and does not have anywhere to put your clothes, no mosquito net and a balcony so small you could just manage one chair on it. The beach is about 15 minutes walk away down a very steep hill. Basically we expected something different based on the previous reviews, which were posted due to the previous manager asking regular guests who go there just for the massages, to post a review. It was more like a hostel than a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by I.C

I recommend this place!

Posted Jul 31, 2012
A nice and relaxing place close to the beach. And the staff were so friendly and helpfull if you needed something. I recommend this place its a really good place!