Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moscow

Excellent place to stay!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros - Great front of house staff; room clean and large with a great view; restaurant food is 5*; great pool and private beach. Cons - A/C was intermittent (although I never ask for it to be looked at and fixed) and the sun beds could do with updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Delhi

I can rebook

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: - Excellent location - Great Staff - Homely Food - Quick Service - Private Beach
Cons: - Homely Food, however, less choices or items (sweet) not available as per menu - AC was bit noisy - Bathroom is smaller - No Cupboard/ lift
Location: - 200m to Kovalam Beach, Lighthouse - Ayurvedic Centre in the building - 16-19 kms away from Poovar Island - 12-16 kms away from Domestic Airport
A Very Good experience while staying in this resort. Be it stay, staff or food, everything was nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Excellent villas, nice beach view, walking distance to beach, shopping. Very helpful staff, tasty food. Hope the hotel includes local items during breakfast. Overall great place to stay..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deepanshu from Bangalore, Karnataka, India

Excellent view with comfortable stay

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: Ayurvedic Spa, Food & View from the room
Cons: Amenities within the room
Location: 20 minutes ride from Trivandrum Railway Station and closely placed on Light House Beach road
We had a pleasant stay at Soma Palmshore. Hotel is located at Light House beach, with its own private beach. Commutation becomes easier as it is very close to Trivandrum Railway Station. Its location near light house beach is overwhelming as you can have calm surroundings and enjoy your stay better. Hotel's restaurant is good and overall it was a lovely holiday at Soma Palmshore. I would recommend this hotel as value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Solo traveller from Greater London

A lovely little hotel with its own private beach

Posted Feb 16, 2013
Pros: Helpfulness of staff. The pool, gardens and private beach
Location: Really good locationi within easy walking distance of the main beach and restaurants.
I stayed at the Soma Palmshore for 1 night at the end of a two week tour of Kerala and after lots of travelling it was really good to find somewhere so peacefull and set in such beautiful surroundings.. I was pleasantly surprised by the helpfulness of the staff. The room was a little small but the balcony was a good size with a view of the pool and private beach. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main beach and restaurants. A newspaper is put under the door in the morning and breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Warren from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Perfect for lazy days

Posted Jan 17, 2013
Pros: Position
Cons: Food
Location: Excellent
Position of the hotel would be the best in Kovalum! We stayed in room 415 which was separated from the main building in a bungalow group of 5 rooms. Brilliant position and wonderful to sit on the verandah and watch the surf roll in. Staff were friendly. Food was OK. Breakfast along the main shopping district is much better. Good value for money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sumesh

stay at soma palshore

Posted Jul 24, 2012
Pros: location, swimming pool, ambience, and front office
Cons: house keeping and only house keeping.
located in a cool and romantic place... stay was really confortable and soothing. but the housekeeping staff were just terrible.. there was not water supply in the rooms atleast couple of hours before my check out... even though reception guys were co-ordinating to re-instate water supply, the housekeeping wasn't even aware about the water supply failure... in turn i had to check out even without taking a bath..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travelfamily from Ohio, USA

Nice hotel,"cottage" overpriced

Posted Jun 3, 2012
Pros: Nice view, private beach
Cons: "Cottage" not as described, smelly bathroom, weak internet
Location: On hilltop above quiet beach
Good:-- Overall, ok hotel with nice view and private beach, Bad -- We booked a cottage on Expedia at the highest price listed and a deluxe room as well for our family. On hotel's website, it describes two cottages with a living room area, but we were given a regular room. When I talked to the manager, he said that we were in a "Kerala" cottage which was a row of 5 hotel rooms with no living area and did not exist in their website description. Nice location but disappointed that we didn't get what we paid for, not as described. Weak/nonexistent wireless signal in room. Bathroom had a strong smell..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Beena from South Carolina

Try Soma Palmshore - it's great for couples!

Posted Jun 3, 2012
Pros: The view was incredible. Waking up every morning to a view of the private beach - your own little idyllic paradise - is indescribable.
Cons: The food can be improved upon. The overall ambiance is gives off a slightly 'used' character; no one came to clean my plates after room service
Location: Ideal. Very closely located to the Lighthouse and the public beaches are just a short walk away - the private beach and surrounding areas are perfect
The overall experience with Soma Palmshore was very pleasant. Upon arrival, I was treated with a garland of flowers. My second party was arriving the next day, and arranging a taxi for his pickup was uncomplicated (though a little expensive in comparison - all the taxi rides arranged were expensive, try to walk or take a rickshaw as often as possible for nearby locations). I was taken to a beautiful little room, with a breathtaking view from my cute porch. It was unexpectedly gorgeous for the price I paid. The room itself was great - clean, the fridge worked too well; the bed was comfortable - the hot water ran out pretty quickly, and the TV reception was variable, but otherwise, I was pleased. The private beach was perfect. No other words necessary. The pool staff worked hard to keep the pool spotless, but due to the other guests (who didn't clean before entering) using the pool, we refrained. The food was decent; breakfast could have been better (and cleaner), but overall, it was ok. The service was good, however I am able to speak Malayalam, so communication was fairly easy. I think it would have been difficult otherwise. Most of the service we ordered was prompt; I had to ask several times for someone to clean our room, and they never cleaned our plates from room service, which was annoying - The local men are generally trustworthy, and we took an incredible boat ride with two local fishermen. Many touristy locales are very close by, only a short walk away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Monty from San Francisco CA

Kovalam beach weekend

Posted Jan 18, 2012
Pros: took an excellent yoga class
Location: Kovalam has surf in the off season, but this was tourist season and so not much for waves.
previous reviewer was correct. Great, nearly private access to a much less crowded beach right in front of the hotel. Yet just 50 meter walk to the main beach and the promenade.