Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Close to the beach..yes

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Location. Very quiet, away from the busy city life.
Cons: Communication skills of the local staff.
Location: All within a short distanc.
A slightly mixed bag. The staff is friendly, especially the front desk & the local tour organizers. Food is a little tasteless, but healthy. Location is great. Resort is clean. Most staff speak only Malayalam. Parking is off site. Very inconvenient. Intercom works in parts. the restaurant timings are very restricted. Imagine no dinner after 10 evening. Wow.. And we were on a holiday..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful place

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Very clean. Nice, friendly and helpful staff. Beautyful garden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delhi, india

Amazing Sea View n Roaring Waves

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Location is amazing. Calm and free from crowds. Sea view and roaring wave sounds are quite inspirational.
Cons: As the bed tea is served only after 7 30 in the morning, earlier risers would love to have a kettle and coffee/ tea pouches in their rooms.
The hotel has two distinctly in two locations- one, on high grounds, and the other, nearer to sea. We stayed at the sea. Location is amazing with a wonderful sea view. Round the clock roaring waves makes it awesome. Coconut trees and a variety of other plants render an excellent garden as well. A well maintained lawn and a variety of orchids compel you to lie on hammocks for ever. Rooms are ethnic, spacious and neat. Staff quite courteous and helpful. Food is homely, makes you eat more and more. Overall, it is just good to be away from the routine urban crowds to be in this serene place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex, UK

It was a perfect retreat for me.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: quiet, peaceful, friendly.
Location: not a lot except relax.
It was a perfect retreat for me. The treatments and yoga were just what I needed to relax after some stressful weeks at work, the food was excellent and the staff very friendly. They really looked after me. I would happily recommend the resort, the beach, the location and would come back another time. The lack of tv and internet are actually a blessing in disguise. After this, I went to Kovalam Beach which is the complete opposite. So glad I stayed at Thapovan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pune

A beautiful, calm Ayurvedic retreat

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The Ayurvedic Massage was the best I've had till date.
Cons: Did not see any flaws
Location: The Lighthouse beach, Samudra beach are close but the beach at Thapovan is the best. You don't want to leave this place and go amidst the crowd
Thapovan was one of the most beautiful places I've stayed at in Kerala. We had booked an Eagle's Nest room with the beach view and it was a great stay. The hotel staff is very co-operative and warm. They did their best to make sure our stay was comfortable. Do try the Ayurvedic massages here. The masseuse are very skilful and having tried massages all over the world, I'd say the one at Thapovan was the best. Very relaxing. The private beach, the food, the ambience - Thapovan has all the elements for a great holiday. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by olga from moscow

Felt I was in heaven

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: I liked the atmosphere about this hotel -just what I needed,very peaceful and serene,with beautiful nature around.
Location: It doesn't take much time to get to Kovalam, but I didn't want to go anywhere, just enjoyed life..
That's a kind of a hotel I like-it's as if inside a jungle..I didn't expect I find such a place near Kovalam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from DOHA

NICE COOL GREEN BEACH RESORT

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Overall
Cons: Nothing Noted.
Location: It's just 5 kms to Kovalam Beach.
I visited it twice during this season. Nice, Clean & Green Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nirav from Mumbai

Thankyou-Thapovan

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: The Ambience, Service with Smile
Location: Must Visit Light Beach House--you get amaxing view from there.
We had booked Old House as the Beach house was not available while booking online. We reached early and our room was up for clean. So I enquire if the beach side Room was available or not and it was available. We were shown both the rooms by Srikanth and we preffered to stay at Beach Side room. Srikanth upgraded us to Beach Cottages without any additional cost. The ambience is very good. The beach is very nearby and clean and is lifeguard is always present on th beach. Last day , knowing that we were on our honeymoon they had decorated our bed with flowers and fruit basket. For sight seeing we had asked Srikanth to make arrangement for an bike which he promptly did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rashmi from Bangalore, Karnataka, India

Relax & Rejuvenate at Thapovan Heritage Home

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: The entire Resort, Ayurveda Massage Center, Staff and the entire ambiance of the place.
Cons: None to quote
Location: One of the best location to holiday.
This is my first trip to Kerala and it turned out to be one of the best to start. The very first look was mesmerizing and prompted us to rethink on extending our stay. We had initially planned to stay for open night, the staff and Thapovan just drew us into extending our stay here. It is one of the best resorts that I have been in the recent past. Very cosy and comfortable place to just relax. The best part was that there was no TV, which ensured that we spent the maximum time enjoying the nature. It has a private beach which is a rarity in these days and indeed a very clean beach. The food and the staff were the icing on the cake and not to forget the Ayurveda Massage Center which over various services which is one of the best in class. The stay here turned out to be one of our best and most relaxing, hoping to go there soon.....Last but not the least, this place is affordable and thanks to Expedia Deals......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Jiani from Berlin

top location

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Beautiful location, very friendly Staff, bed was a little too hard and food selection is very simple