Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Location, Ambience, Staff, Food
Cons: AC Cooling, Mosquitoes in the outdoors at night (may not be in hotel control)
Location: Beach (north cliff, south cliff), Janardan temple, Helipad. Also, half hour ride to Kappil Beach which is very beautiful. 1 hour 15 minute from TRV
Stayed for 7 nights. The hotel has a different charm. It is a oversized house with about 30 rooms. Not a typical hotel look but a very charming place. Its about 300 steps to the beach through the back entrance. Overall very convenient hotel. Nice staff always smiling and willing to help. The AC did not seem very powerful but upon request, they quickly addressed it. Nice views of the beach. Has carromboard, chess and other table games. The Ayervedic massage place in the hotel is professionally run and is overall nice. The food was great. The executive chef was always around to chat and customized food to our liking. It is not a 5 or 7 star hotel. But certainly a very neat and clean and picturesque place with good people who like to take care of your minute details.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Helpful staff, excellent location

Posted Apr 16, 2016
We had a terrific experience, staff helpful and friendly. The pool would benefit from some maintenance work,repairing broken tiles. Good in the hotel restaurant, nice but pricy. Buffet bteakfast, plenty of options.
4 out of 5
by Samuel

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Best place to stay in Varkala - do yourself a favour.
4 out of 5
by Christian from Zurich

Relaxing on top of Varkala beach

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
very nice top hill hotel. Great service, very friendly. Close walk from the beach. The hotel itslelf has all you need. It could be a 5* if the hotel restaurant would be a bit bigger or the pool would have a bit more chairs or be a bit bigger. Our room had the floor that was broken under a dirty carpet. The carpet was changed, but it gives impression with other details, that hotel is a bit old. The room was big so and especially the bathroom. The restaurant is very good. The Gateway is probably one of the best quality hotel in Varkala, the beach village has a lot of hôtels, but it is a bit a dirty area and I am not sure I would pick a hotel right there. Still possible to find ok places, I am sure, but not a 5*.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

An excellent hotel with great atmosphere .

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: When I fell ill they took me to hospital, stayed with me and took every care .
Cons: Alcoholic drinks could be provided and perhaps European wines.
Location: Perfect location high above the beach and the cliff top shops and cafes.
Very caring staff, warm welcome on arrival. Splendid views over gardens and pool towards the beach. Spacious rooms.
5 out of 5
by David from Oxford

Relaxing, good value stay

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
Three day stay. Excellent value for money at the price I paid. Very friendly service. Good access to beach via private pathway.
4 out of 5
by Pavel from London

Enjoyable stay for 3 nights

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
This was a nice place to spend three days. The best things about the hotel are the pool which was a great size and was very clean, the free yoga in the morning and the standard of the rooms. Service was good in general, but there were one or two occasions when the staff looked a bit lost. If I had to be picky about the room, the bed was a little high, but otherwise we were very comfy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from delhi

Hotel is perfect for honeymooners n families.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Food is a bit expensive but other the rest r all good
5 out of 5
by Ramji

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels