Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable place to stay.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: I booked 6 nights with Expedia and had to cancel one night. I got charged more for 5 nights that 6 so am currently having to argue this out.
Location: Shops within walking distance. The beach by Tides restaurant is a great place to people watch and see some authentic India in action.
Lovely position - hill top rooms or the bungalows by the beach which I personally preferred as I had good views of the garden (with hammocks and a small pool) and beach and could hear/see the local fisherman pulling in the boats and nets. The food was good with lots of choice. The staff are friendly - some more than others of course. The sky bar for evening drinks is lovely. The hotel is about comfort and so doesn't give you a real India feeling - you could be anywhere in the world if you don't venture out. However you don't have to go far to get this.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Should improve

Posted Nov 24, 2016
In Kerala it is a good resort. Long way to reach up to the standards of Western world. Traditional richness of the culture I can see at entrance of the hotel. l stayed at garden view room and find cockroach and small lizard in side. Beah is not shallow. Buffet is good .Staff perfect .location excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chigwell, UK

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Although the hotel is outdated, the staff more than made up with their excellent service and attitude. Will definitely be going back with family
Cons: The rooms are comfortable but dated - need to modernise these. The hotel has excellent location and facilities and staff are excellent.
Location: There are lots of small eateries nearby if you are on B/B basis and they are cheap and cheerful with usual tourist shops selling clothes and trinkets.
We have just returned after a 13 day holiday at The Leela Kovalam - had an excellent time at the hotel. The staff were ever ready to help out and were very courteous and obliging with whatever we wanted - 5 out of 5 for the staff. The food was good and varied during our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would be going back with my family in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IND

Not worth the hype !

Posted Oct 18, 2016
It was a nice stay.Beautiful property good staff but not worth the money you spend. You get same facilities at half the rate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel with magnificent sea views

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Leela. The room was comfortable with beautiful views. In general it was a pleasant stay. Staff and services were a bit hit and miss and organisation of things wasn't always smooth. The swimming pool was excellent with stunning views... not overcrowded. Had a good quiet few days ... loved the backwater tours. It is a little overpriced for what it is.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Beautiful property

Posted Oct 12, 2016
I stayed at the Leela for 4 days in October and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is lovely, with breathtaking views of the beach, excellent service, and great food. I can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

An experience not to be missed

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: An excellent, all round service to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
Cons: Get rid of the crows that enter the building, particularly the Business Centre where they are a nuisance!
Location: Everything one could want is available within the hotel. However, if one were interested, various trips that tourists may like can be arranged!
I was attending the wedding of my friend's daughter. I combined this with a holiday both, before and after the wedding. I am very glad that I did so. One couldn't have got a better bunch of staff! They were polite, courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. I shall definitely visit repeatedly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic property with great view and facilities, admirable hospitality. Wifi needs to be reasonably prices and beach area can have better arrangements and possible water sports activities.
5 out of 5
by Karanvir Singh from Lucknow

The unimaginable resort.

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
The trip was unimaginable. By looking at my pictures my friends n family thought I was in some place outside India.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Full value to your money

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Had a pleasant stay with a welcome kunkkum, chain made of seashells and a tender coconut . Got upgradesd to club suite bcoz of bulk booking, i guess .. Right from check in , we all felt the luxury and comfort of the hotel ..full marks to each and every one from service .. The pool by club suite was awesome . The best pool i have ever enjoyed . Will plan another vacation at Leela soon .