Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, ON

Hotel staff overwhelmed with the wedding party

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Pay attention to your regular guests, who come from half the world across based on your name and reputation.
Location: Nice location close to Trivandarum. Have lots of extra time in hand as traffic is extremely bad even in small town!
Half of the facilities were closed due to ongoing party on premises. Our breakfast was moved to a remote restaurant which was several flight of stairs in a separate building. As all the guests were forced to the same restaurant for breakfast - we found every single dish (literally) empty. Too many guests taking picture of empty platters. The bigger pool was closed as well restricting access to wedding party only. The beach was extremely dirty. Due to the cyclone, access to the beach was closed, however, that should not be an excuse for the dirty beach. It was an ugly sight. The mini bars were emptied apparently on the request of wedding party and were not restocked for the other guests! In all, going all the way from Canada, assuming a nice hotel on the beach, was a disappointing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxurious hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Amazing hotel with many outdoor spaces to relax in. The beach cannot be described as private and is not clean enough to go into. The rooms are delightful and room service very good
4 out of 5
by Kirtik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by s

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Harsha

Amazing holiday at Kovalam

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing amazing hotel and location. The staff was super warm and made us feel very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I was offered the rate for one adult and by mistake I did not see it. When we arrived at the hotel we were charged for one more adult. The Website should clearly state the rate for one adult or two adults and that was misleading and I needed up paying $180 more at the Hotel.
4 out of 5
by Payal

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Leela is a beautiful place to stay in. Their ayurveda spa is fabulous. The service at The terrace dining is slow but apart from that it's a great place to stay in..
5 out of 5
by Varun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
It was a really beautiful room with the lovely ocean scenery. We can hear the sounds of waves.
5 out of 5
by Parbat

5 Star Hotel - highly recommended

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
The Leela Kovalam was an amazing hotel. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a drink. The hotel had kindly upgraded our room - it was perfect with a seaview balcony. The room was huge, beds comfortable, and bathroom clean. The hotel at first seemed a little outdated compared to other 5* hotels I have stayed at, but it actually added to its quality. It was nice to see some traditional features. It was very clean. The chef was amazing. He met us every morning and evening as I had specific dietary requirements. He made sure I had something different to eat every meal time. The food was delicious. The service was immaculate. The beach is just minutes away with a walk down or you can get dropped off on a golf cart. We tried the free yoga lesson and free cookery class. One of the best swimming pools I have used. Lovely to swim in and watch the sunset, The hotel is not far from other tourist spots. Its easy to get a taxi from the hotel. Would recommend using Uber.