Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Outstanding place, staff and the location is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Great place to stay. The ski lift to see the fall leaves was excellent! They are in the middle of adding on a new addition and working on their parking lot , so was a little inconvenient. Would love to go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed...

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Most facilities were closed and the outdoor hot tub was down for maintenance. The hostess at the Thistle was very rude. Not much to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Defiance, Ohio

It is located in a beautiful setting

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. I am definitely going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by Amanda, Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response. We look forward to your next stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great, affordable place to stay near Traverse city. Only complaint is a noisy fridge in the room, other than that great resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by Amanda, Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response on your recent stay. I apologize for the noise from your fridge. We will get the fridge looked at. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawthorn Woods, IL

Well settled hotel in mountain forest

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The resort offers lots of activities including alphine sliding. Our kids were too busy to do all such activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to the beach and dunes.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
My husband and I had a great time at Crystal Mountains. Everyone was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southwest Michigan

Expected a Little More at the Hamlet

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: ON Slope!! Location, location, the price was right, room size nice, amenities spa items very nice, comfy, and enough dresser space to accomodate us.
Cons: To improve the heating and refrigeration in the Hamlet rooms to be quieter.
Location: Tompsonville offers several eating places which is close, Frankfort is close in good weather and offers more of a towns offerings.
Resort was half closed Sunday night and midweek while we were staying their. When you're staying on slope you want to literally stay on slope to eat and drink, play, shop, etc. the Ski bar closed early Sunday and never reopened before we left as well as several restaurants were closed midweek. So they're getting people to the resort but making us spend half our money at other restaurants and drinking establishments. That means we had to drive away from the resort for variety of food prices and choices. Our room at the Hamlet had issues, which surprised us, a leaking sink, a deck door lock that was hard to open, a valance that fell off the window and noisey refrigerator and heating that we turned off to sleep. We did report the first problems and they were quick to get resolved. Which we wouldn't have expected less, and the staff were very nice and got the problems fixed. We love the on hill ski locker, skiing conditions were great, variety of vertical was enjoyed. The outside beauty of resort-neat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Crystal Mountain is a beautiful resort with mountains, hills and fresh air. Check in was the simplest process ever and directions to our condo were precise along with info on the amenities of the resort. Condo was clean and welcoming but a number of electrical outlets were not working. The screen to the deck overlooking the golf course was ripped out of the frame and useless as a screen. We reported it to the front desk. Our stay was short but lovely and we will go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for families

Posted Sep 10, 2015
we loved all the great family fun the hotel had to offer and the staff was wonderful. But when we walked in our room it smelled and our tub had mold on the outside of it. It's a great place to stay with other families ( big group) the bungalows seemed great we didn't have one. But it's far away from all the big cities