Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Great , Relaxing and Peaceful hotel.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Everything (excl. breakfast).
Cons: Breakfast too expensive for a basic continental.
Fabulous hotel. Very nice location. Beautiful park. Relaxing SPA . Hotel staff very kind and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic hotel, one of the best we've stayed in

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Excellent service, location and lovely food. Nothing was too much trouble and we appreciated the little extras and free shuttle service. The views from breakfast will never be forgotten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Faultless

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, amenities.
Location: Funicular into town. Lake.
A wonderful hotel with great views of the lake. The room was spacious and included everything we needed including lovely Occitane toiletries and plentiful supplies of Evian water! The staff were most helpful in all areas, polite and friendly. The spa and both pools (indoor and outside) were very pleasant and the grounds were beautifully kept. The location was convenient for the funicular to the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Wonderful, relaxing stay in one of the most beautiful parts of the world I have ever seen. Our room, which had a separate sitting area with pull out couch, was extremely comfortable for a family of three. Food was excellent, grounds were immaculate, staff was helpful. Evidently there was some construction going on, as the indoor pool was not open during our stay. We never saw or heard any of it. Our only issue was that our stay wasn't long enough!
5 out of 5
by Graham from UK

Slightly misleading

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
Some of their advertising suggests the hotel is on the golf course - it is 2km away. Not necessarily a problem, since they run an efficient shuttle bus service. Otherwise, the hotel is superb.
3 out of 5
by karamichelle from Basel

Great place to relax!!

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
It was fantastic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cyril from St. Petersburg

Great hotel in a historical place

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: Impeccable service, good restaurant
Cons: A small spa area that looks and feels outdated
Location: There are not so many things to do around. You may visit an exhibition or concert hall, take a tour of the lake, visit casino or drive to Switzerland
It's a good 4 star hotel in a location that used to be a famous spa resort some 100 years ago. There is another 5 star hotel belonging to the same group, but it was closed for renovation. The service was impeccable. Literally there was nothing to complain about. Rooms were completely refurbished some 2-3 ago. However, the spa area was a disappointment. When we planned a trip to Evian, we expected to see a historical town with nice buildings from belle epoque, thermal baths and a hotel featuring a large modern spa area with mineral water. What we discovered was a town that appeared somewhat neglected to us, historical baths in a beautiful building converted into an exhibition hall. There are no large public baths at all such as you find in German Baden-Baden or Swiss Bad Ragaz. The town had them but decided to close them down. It's not the only strange thing we found out. For example, there was a railroad around the Geneva lake that was constructed over 100 years ago, which still exists but is closed and abandoned on the French territory, service starts as soon as you cross the border to Switzerland. There was a beautiful historic landmark hotel Splendide that was frequented by famous people, which was demolished in the eighties. Actually they demolished a number of old hotels. To summarize, if you expect a grandeur of a historical spa resort, it's gone. Pity! If you need a place to read a book on a bench with a nice view of the lake - then it's an option for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great relaxing stay

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Pros: The service. Surrounded by exceptional staff.
Cons: The hill on the walk back from the lake, but it was the most exorcise we did that weekend
Location: Great relaxing views
We had an amazing stay at the Hôtel Ermitage. It was a perfect weekend, starting from being picked up and chauffeured around the quaint town all courtesy of the Ermitage. I booked the stay for my girlfriends birthday and they went out of their way to help her celebrate it with a complimentary gift and a cake at dinner, which was exceptional! The spa and swimming pool only made the stay a lot more relaxing and that was exactly what we were looking for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Put it on your Bucket List

Posted Sep 22, 2011 on Hotels
We have traveled and stayed in many hotels around the world. This has been our absolute favorite. It is a must visit if you are in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rutland

Not impressed

Posted Sep 1, 2008
Hotel is very tired and needs decorating and updating.Our room was very small and the bathroom was like a hospital bathroom from the 50's.Very expensive hotel and room service, 50 Euros for a 1 tea and 1 coffee.