Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by mark from Chiang Rai

average the fridge not work for 2 days

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is isolated you need a car to stay here overpriced
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Outstanding
3 out of 5
by Nic from London

Nice, but not for the summer...

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
We were given a very spacious family room above the restaurant in the main part of the hotel. The rooms were nicely decorated with an antique furniture look. Overall the rooms were clean, but the shower are could have been bit better maintained, as there were black mildew marks on the tiles. The generous balcony overlooked a private set of tennis courts not related to the hotel, and although the view to the gardens was nice, the cries from the tennis players in the background were not as pleasing. The main problem we had with the hotel was the fact that this four star establishment did not have air conditioning! It was a very hot time of the year and all we were provided with were fans, that did not help much during the very humid and warm nights. When asking the reception to move us to another room with A/C I was told none of their rooms had it! This gave us a couple of difficult nights of sleep, and on the second night one of our kids came to sleep in our room, as we had two fans, and the room she was sharing with her sister was too hot. Provided you are not bothered by hot weather, the hotel offers nice pleasant rooms and staff, but if you visit them in summer, there are probably other 4* properties in the area where you will be able to get a good night's sleep with air conditioning.
4 out of 5
by gordon from UK

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Didn't stay long enough to really enjoy the hotel itself, but was comfortable, and I liked the private double balcony for space (and the loungers)and large bath. Felt I could have spent a comfortable few days there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

La Verniaz et ses Chalets REVIEW

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
I HAD A VERY NICE AND RELAXING STAY
3 out of 5
by Robert from Cheltenham/Gloucester

Comfortable overall, but in need of improvements..

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel and its grounds is charmingly old-fashioned, friendly and comfortable, but in our view it is showing its age in significant parts, and is currently more 3* than 4*. It is in need of further modernisation. Our room was a pleasant and comfortable double - though we'd asked in fact for a twin room - nevertheless some fixtures and fittings were very old and rather shabby, which spoiled what could be a great experience. We had well over an hour's wait for our main course in the restaurant on our first night - as did a number of the other unfortunate diners that evening (probably because the staff and kitchen were pre-occupied with a large-ish group in a separate dining room, but really no excuse for that delay). No apology or explanation was given, nor any rebate offered. So we gave the restaurant a miss after that. (Especially as the menu prices were quite high.) Breakfast was pleasant enough, if really just 'continental' (plus 'eggs' if wanted, but no other hot food), and self-service coffee - where the machine never delivered anything really hot. There was no hospitality tray in the room (not unusual in France, we know) but the staff did eventually deliver one, plus a jug of milk for the fridge/mini-bar, albeit we had to ask for re-stocking of tea/coffee sachets. The (ageing) mini-bar was handy, though never re-stocked/replenished during our six-night stay. And items were ridiculously expensive, so after consuming a few we bought our own drinks/snacks.
5 out of 5
by Darlene from Florida

Wonderful stay!

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos, California

Exceeded expectations

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Good location, historic property, lovely pool, gorgeous gardens, thoughtful amenities, wonderful restaurant, free parking, free wifi, very good value.
Location: Above historic town of Evian-les-Bains and nearby grand hotels, and a great jumping off point for a drive through the alps.
A warm welcome awaited at this beautiful hillside property, and we enjoyed our generously-sized guest and bathrooms as well as delicious dinners in the hotel's attractive dining room. The staff were all friendly and helpful. I would return without hesitation!
5 out of 5
by Robogiles from STN

Great staff

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were all excellent and made the stay most enjoyable. Restaurant was lovely as was the food. Most delightful stay. Wished we could have stayed longer.