Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blenheim Ontario

Close to where I needed to be

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The closeness to the event that I was attending.
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Location: It was on the outskirts of Thornbury and I was attending a family function in town. Because I prefer not to drive at night I chose to stay here.
To begin the lady had extremely poor English. She accused me of booking 2 nights and not showing up for the 1st night and then couldn't find my reservation but told me I would be charged anyway if I left. Go figure. Then her husband came in and showed me my reservation on his phone. I then requested to see the room and found it to be stuffy so asked if there was an air conditioner. With the air on and the bathroom window open I was able to sleep. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and parts of the bathroom looked new but there was no hairdryer which I found very unusual. There was no pool,no restaurant and no coffee in the room although there was a fridge and microwave. Compared to motels I usually frequent and which are generallyin the U.S. this was expensive for what was provided. I would not return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the money

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Stayed there last minute. Inexpensive but clean and bed was comfortable enough. Would recommend if you want an inexpensive hotel in the area.
2 out of 5
by Suzanne

Okay value

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean enough, but very outdated, and very small. The bed wasn't comfortable, the pillows old and flatten, the furniture ancient. Looks like the started to redo the bathroom, but some work on the walls needs to be finished. The door locks in a strange way, but it was safe. If you are staying for one night, it's okay, but if you have a long stay, I'd find somewhere more comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Motel close to the ski slopes

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Old motel but ok for a short stay, has fridge, microwave and tea pot. Clean bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2016 by Yogi owner , Hotel Management
Thank you very much see you again thanks
3 out of 5
by Dave from Guelph

Save your "Penny's" spend a few dollars elsewhere!

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
ski weekend at Alpine
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrie, Ontario

Clean and inexpensive place to lay your head

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly staff and inexpensive.
Cons: Beds are a bit hard. Windows are old and cracked. Room was cold when we first entered and took a while to warm up.
Location: 10 mins from Blue Mountain. Mins to Tim Hortons, TD Bank and Groceries. 18 mins to Collingwood which has everything you would need.
Penny's motel isn't the most up-to-date motel to stay it. It has older windows, tube tv's and rather small rooms BUT it is clean and the owners are very nice. We have stayed at Penny's 4 times now and each time we have come they have been upgrading things to try and improve it for their customers. The latest improvements are where it counts with new toilets, sinks and bathtubs. They have free wifi which isn't bad and their tube tv's are perfectly acceptable with the size of the room and the channel selection. Thornbury is a very nice little town that has a Tim Hortons, TD Bank, grocery store and LCBO. What else would you need?
3 out of 5
by artemis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Close to bike trail but that's it for upside

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: New clean bathroom. Close to golf and bike trail. Price.
Cons: Regular, proper room cleaning for guests staying more than a single night.
Location: Great bike trail along Georgian bay.
The room was extrembly small and "cleaning" staff didn't empty trash regularly or clean the sink to remove soap scum left by the bar. Renovated washroom but no shower mat in a new elevated tub - I almost took a header twice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels