Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SoCal, USA

History All Around

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: It's stunning and oozing in history.
Cons: The breakfast service was disorganized and mediocre. I went into town for dinner. It just feels like the staff is part time and not invested.
Location: This is located in Thornbury right outside of Bristol. The town has a couple of great restaurants and the church next door is fascinating!
Thornbury Castle is a castle but with a sordid past. In fact, it really was built as a manor/country house because it's not fortified to be a castle. However, it's this bit of history that makes it, among other things, so interesting. This is why one stays there. It's beautiful and filled with history. Unfortunately, it also needs a little TLC. I'm hoping that someone comes in and really gives this place all the attention it deserves because it warrants it. Stay there and support this piece of history. Hopefully, someone will bring this place back to glory and fix the little things that need to be fixed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms, loved all of it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SHORT CHANGED!

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
The only issues I have are:- 1. The vegetarian meal options are offered as a starter or a main course. Judging by the meagre amount of food on the plate, I can only assume that the chef mistakenly thought that I had requested it as a starter. Or he believes (along with other restaurants) that vegetarians have the appetite of a mouse. I wouldn't mind so much if the price of the meal wasn't so expensive. 2. The bar price list stated £5.00 for a Bath Gem Ale and £3.00 for a Sambuca. I was charged £5.50 and £6.50. Evidently the price lists (displayed on each table in the lounge and library areas) had not been updated in line with a price increase or contained mistakes. Either way, you would not expect this to happen in a hotel of this standard and I feel that I have been overcharged.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Castle hotel near Bristol

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Splurged on this gem of a castle walking distance to some nice pubs. The room was amazing. From the small cross windows to the deep bath tub and high bed. It was amazing to stay in a castle!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room for a castle.

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Descent Castle stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We booked the basic double room which need some minor maintaince and updating. Large crack noticed between the drywall and tub. The room was carpeted with old, worn, green carpet. It needs the updates for the price being charged. The fireplace and windows were lovely! Our room view over looked an amazing English country side. The bed was very comfortable. Would have given 4 stars overall, but the staff was truly wonderful and the view absolutely beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful castle - such a treat

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
This is an amazing building with a lot of history. We loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Worth a kings ransome !

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: They have been able to create a very comfortable hotel without changing the character of the building or location. One of the best castle hotels.
Cons: Had some trouble operating the electrical switches.
Location: Located on the outskirts of a charming village in close proximity to Bristol and not far from Bath.
Spacious room with lots of character. Very comfortable bed and room was well equipped. Unfortunately dinning room was closed as we arrived late however breakfast in the morning was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We Felt Like Royalty

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
This was truly an authentic overnight stay in a castle built in the early 1500's. The castle was amazing by itself, but our room, Henry VIII, was an experience by itself! It was exactly what we had hoped for and more than we expected. The bedding and towels were outstanding as was the comfort of the bed. The shower was also great plus there was a jacuzzi tub. We could not determine how to turn on the heated towel rack, and we had issues with turning on the fireplace (so did the gentleman who showed us our room)-we only got it to light once. But, overall, if you have ever wanted to spend the night in a REAL CASTLE, this is the experience for you. We also had a delicious dinner and breakfast here! Dinner was served with much aplomb just as you might expect in this setting!! We loved our stay and wished we had scheduled more than one night there!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Outstanding Castle but the food was terrible

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The unique experience of staying in a castle
Cons: Put some information signs around the castle and church describing the history.
Location: We visited the city of Bath and toured the city using the hop on hop off bus. The Roman baths historic site was an excellent historical visit.
The castle was great and the facilities are well kept. The staff was helpful but not great. The dining room is poorly run and is in great need of a decent chef. 1 of the 2 breakfasts was good - the other was not good at all - ran out of food. The evening dining room meal was terrible. One of the worst meals I have ever experienced. Food was insufficient and poorly prepared and the service was very slow. Even without any drinks the cost for 2 dinners plus tip was over 100 pounds. What a rip off for a 2 course dinner. I don't mind paying for a good meal but that dining facility and food preparation is an embarrassment. I could give you a complete detailed description of what was presented to us but that would be excessive especially sine we were first time visitors from out of the country. We have eaten in good restaurants all over the world but the one at Thornbury Castle has the dubious distinction of being the worst.