Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Posted Jun 11, 2018
This hotel is an amazing experience of history and gastronomy. The staff is fantastic and goes the extra mile. I can’t recommend it highly enough. You’ll remember this hotel for a lifetime!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Posted May 21, 2018
We had a wonderful short stay in the gatehouse. There were three of us staying. It was difficult to fully appreciate our accommodations as well as manage day trips. We were so sorry to leave. Breakfast were wonderful. Adequate options for all dietary needs. Also had a lovely dinner. the wait staff is engaging. Make you feel very much at home. Don't miss a walk through flower garden!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2018
Stunning castle to stay in, loved the 4 poster bed and so comfortable staff were great, thank you for a great stay...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK.

A Hotel of quality and character

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Pros: The room, the grounds, and the Gin and tonic.
Cons: Nothing. I feel our stay was perfect.
Location: Not far from Bristol, Bath and Cheltenham, and only 15-20 minutes from the Severn crossing into Wales. Plenty to see and do.
A beautiful and feature-full hotel, with some very distinctive and wonderful rooms. From check-in, the staff were efficient, friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble. The library was peaceful and comfortable. The restaurant, to be fair is a little expensive but the food is incredible. Despite being a quality hotel to stay in, the atmosphere was not stuffy or restrictive, and my wife and I really enjoyed our stay. We will definitely go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gwent, South Wales

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Pros: Convenient,comfortable,relaxing and not crowded when full.
Cons: Our only difficulty was with the toilet in our room, completely impractical, a unnecessary gimmick.
Location: We went to Berkeley Castle for an excellent day out but many more attractions in Bristol and over the bridge into Wales,
Very convenient to home in South Wales and easily found on Sat Nav.If you want to be pampered this is the place for you. All the staff,without exception were very friendly and exceptionally efficient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A special place

Posted Mar 16, 2018 on Hotels
A lovely special place to stay. The staff were excellent and did all they could to make our stay pleasurable. The food was a delight a truly special culinary experience. We hope to go back in the near future to experience more of the Thornby Magic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

History will wow you! Food less so...

Posted Mar 16, 2018
Amazing stay. Comfortable lodgings in an incredible setting. Some features a little worn / not maintained. Service at reception was fantastic. The food is fair (pretends it is fine dining) the venue will more than make up for everything...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A beautiful place.

Posted Mar 6, 2018 on Hotels
A beautiful place, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the accommodation was wonderful. We did feel that the evening meal, although good, didn't quite reach our expectations, they need to raise the culinary skills bar to meet the standards of the surroundings.