Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Rustic NP lodger

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Rooms old and rustic. Food was fabulous. NP setting the real draw — serene, great views, and hiking from your door!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Property Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the fantastic review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Rustic mountain lodge

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The staff was helpful to three older women with late arrival even though there is no baggage service
Cons: Heater in bathroom. Caulking in shower was mentioned to front desk. Breakfast was not hot
Location: Hikes of various difficulty. Movies and presentations at the visitor center
The nearby gift shops and National Park Service Visitor Center was very good. Great views with deer
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Property Manager, Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide a great review. We apologize for not providing a better dining experience during your stay. The general maintenance items you listed above should be addressed this off season as we continue to address outstanding items routinely. We are happy you enjoyed much of your trip. All the best.
1 out of 5
by Diana

Miserable, Inhospitable, Cold

Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in a “traditional” room—which turned out to be a room in a cabin in the woods, about a five-minute walk from the lodge. It was a very old structure—probably from the 1930’s—with no refrigerator, no microwave, very old walls, a yucky closet, etc. The two full-size beds were okay, though. There was a coffee maker, and it was clean enough. We were tired, having just driven the “scenic” drive through rain and patchy fog, barely able to see anything ahead of us. Shortly after 10:00 PM the power went off. It stayed off the whole night. We had no heat. It was then we found that we had only ONE extra blanket. We were so cold, we threw all the blankets on one bed and huddled together, hoping for morning to come soon. Morning came. Still no power, no hot water, just miserable cold. It had snowed during the night (Oct. 30, 2017). We threw on clothes and went to the front desk in the Lodge. Their power had come on about 30 minutes before. Our cabin still had no power, we were miserable, and cold. We begged for a cup of coffee. Coffee had been made—we could see it in the restaurant area. We were told that the restaurant would not be opened for another 30-45 minutes, and no, we could not buy coffee, even though it had already been made. Not even coffee. Here they had guests who had paid over $150 for ONE miserable night, who were cold, who had had no shower, and were there any apologies? No. Not a single word of solace—and no coffee, unless we were willing to wait.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017
We sincerely apologize for your recent experiences here at Big Meadows Lodge. I believe I may have responded in detail to the same review on a different platform. Power outages of the magnitude you encountered are not typical but can be challenging to say the least. Thank you for providing feedback and we will continue to work diligently to ensure speedy recoveries from weather events.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Need to request non pet used room. urine odor

Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Enjoyed the mountains and seeing different wildgame animals and birds
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Property Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are so very sorry your room had a urine odor. We work very hard to keep out pet rooms clean and odor free. We are happy you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Hotels
Outdoor lights were not set with the setting sun by 30 minutes. Total darkness walking to cabin after dinner. No hot water. Outdoor light at cabin entrance out.
3 out of 5
by Catherine

Rustic and beautiful surroundings

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel grounds were beautiful. Wildlife all around. The lodge could use some updating and the outside of the rooms could use some repair. When we walked down the sidewalk to our room, chipmunks were running around and the went behind the wood siding. Be prepared for no TV and limited WiFi. The only cell service is on the veranda outside of the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perkiomenville pa

Great place to stay, nice good food

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Wonderful stay , quiet pleasant , nice view good food good rooms and nice cozy cabin feel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Northern Jersey Shore

Beautiful Park

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Very much enjoyed the exquisite natural beauty of this park. This was a short stop on our way to the Smokies. We arrived after dark at 9 pm and the restaurant was closed. After showering & packing up to get back on the road the following morning, we arrived to return our keys & waited on line to check out. We were really looking forward to a lovely breakfast only to be told that the restaurant had closed 5 minutes earlier....bummer.
5 out of 5
by Jessica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Hiren

Not happy overall

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Jacked up price for nothing honestly....will stay outside next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017
We are so very sorry you did not find value in your stay with us. While we are a bit pricier then other accommodations outside of the park the location is unmatched.