Ratings based on 1,490 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Sobrante, Ca

Not a 3 star hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Staff
Cons: Don't call it a 3 star
This hotel should not be a 3 star hotel. This is a 2 star with maybe half more. The rooms are nice enough inside but this is still a motel style building with people waking in front of your window (no privacy) and an air conditioner/Heater under the front window which by the way was extremely noisy all night and leaked water (outside). Very pleasant staff, breakfast included (sub par) served in a bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Terrible hotel or you can say MOTEL!

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: NOTHING
The hotel is terrible, overpriced for the service, room comfort. The breakfast bar was the worst compared to other hotels. Even the coffee tastes horrible!!! I do not recommend it to anyone. I think Expedia needs to review it position about this hotel. I think it is a Motel not a Hotel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
This hotel is in a great location. Close to freeway, shopping and gas station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel that’s kind of close to the beach

Posted Dec 30, 2017
I stay there a few times per month. The only problem was the ac unit filter needed to be cleaned or the whole thing replaced - it was pumping out a rank odor. Front desk guy was super accommodating and switched me to the room next door. I appreciated it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Signal hill ca

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Friendly staff, up to date furniture, clean room, the best free breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Great value for the money. Check in was easy, the room was clean. Had microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast was of good value. Overall great value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: A great customer service.
Cons: The TV didn't work occasionally.
We stayed with our children in the hotel for two days and two nights. The customer service was excellent. Very helpful and friendly. The restaurant attached to the hotel had a very nice breakfast and with great service. An excellent start for our holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from agoura hills CA

Customer Service Fabulous

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Great staff here at the Palm Garden. Friendly, efficient, nice. I couldn’t get my key to work twice but I had a lot of stuff I didn’t feel like walking all the way back down to the desk, so I call down there and within a minute they ran keys back up to me. Ordered room service from Brendan’s the one night and that was fast and good as well. Great little place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better Than Expected

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: breakfast, drinks, happy staff
Cons: some customers were loud walking back to their room at night -- probably due to popular bar that's part of hotel.
Location: great hiking/biking trails
Hot breakfasts were great and hotel even gave us 2 drink vouchers each night. Hotel was built decades ago so looks like an upscale motel, but the grounds are lovely (palm trees, grass and big pool) and the rooms recently updated. Staff were always polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super cute grounds, room was very nice

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Grounds, size of room
Cons: I've stayed many times, the AC often smell musky or moldy. I buy a can of Lysol to try to clean, spraying the fins and you can tell they seldom clean
Location: Reagan Museum, outlet shopping, hiking
Like to stay here, as good feature and comfort for the price.