Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

Lovely location on the water and in town!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Beautiful location! Thun is a small Charming town! It was my favorite city in all of Switzerland!! Lovely path to walk on that takes you by the water and as it opens up you can See a wonderful view of the snow capped alps! Train station is about a 5 min walk. The breakfast at this hotel is phenomenal! The staff was so friendly and helpful! Highly recommend!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Ursula, Hotel Management
Dear Stephanie We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our place so much. Thank you very much for all the compliments. Indeed, Thun is one of the nicest small towns in Switzerland. We love it all. Thank your for recommending it. Please come back, we will welcome you warmly again. The Hotel Freienhof Staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Wonderful locations

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The staff were super helpful from check in to check out. The rooms are very modern and everything works.
Location: Great location close to everything with great staff.
The hotel is super convenient except impact of local roadworks (which are obviously beyond the hotels control). Right on the river and next to the old pat of town. Great to explore the city and go out adventuring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from DC

Nice hotel in the center of the old town

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: location and style
Cons: the walls are very thin and noise comes from other rooms
Location: restaurants, walking, city center, hiking, boat tours
The hotel is in a great location and the staff is really nice and helpful. The breakfast had various choices of food even for guests with food allergies. The room had a great design overlooking the river. The only thing that was very annoying is noises coming from other rooms. The walls are very thin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Ursula, Hotel Management
Dear Judit Thank you for visiting our place and for writing a review. Guest reviews are very important. They give us the chance to work on our guest services and to improve our quality. We will happily transmit your compliments to our staff from the front desk. Your compliment will be an excellent motivation for their work. We are looking forward to welcome you at our place again. Best regards, the Hotel Freienhof-Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No A/C

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
I made the mistake of not checking if there's A/C in this hotel. It does not and if it's summer and it's like 35 degrees C, the heat is suffocating. There is an electric fan but it's just not enough. The room given to us was not too small, we were able to add an extra bed for my son. The ceiling was low and we had no view. Breakfast was sufficient and having it by the river was really nice. The location is near the train station and the stores so it's quite convenient. Check in and check out were fast. Receptionists were nice. I would probably still book in this hotel but not during the summer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Ursula, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you are recommending it. You are right, we have no A/C. Most Swiss hotel rooms and historical buildings have no AC. Usually it is not so hot in Switzerland. We send you our best regards from Thune and hope to welcome you again iat the Hotel Freienhof. Best regards the Hotel Freienhof-Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Central location in Thun

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Good view over the river Aare
Convenient location for visiting family living near Steffisburg as well being able to travel locally by bus and rail.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Freienhof, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you very much for your Review and your compliments concerning our staff. We are very happy to hear that you enjoied your stay. See you soon again, the Hotel Freienhof
4 out of 5
by Ronald

Overnight stay

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
A nice hotel in the center of the beautiful town of Thun. Staff friendly and helpful. There is a good choice for breakfast which is served in a nice restaurant. The hotel is in good condition and the room are adequate size. Car parking is available .
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Great Location

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Thun is a lovely town, so beautiful. I wish we has stayed a 2nd night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the train station

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Great breakfast but the hotel room was very basic.
4 out of 5
by Gretchen from Houston

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great location on the river through town. Easy walk to train station. Ask for room on the river. We had a bigger room #133 but it had no view at all and felt like we were in the basement. That was a disappointment. But we were really never there so okay. Lighting in bathroom was not flattering either and tub/shower hard to get in/out of. During summer ask for a fan as it can get stuffy and we really could not leave windows open where our room was located. Bottom line - great location but make sure you have room with balcony on river.
4 out of 5
by Yoraka

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels