Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to bars, resteraunts, casino

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Historic building
Cons: TV was a little dated
Location: Lotsa of good eats
I liked the grand ness of the hotel - how long it has been around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

A very nice and comfy place to stay.

Posted Jan 8, 2016
This hotel was nice and comfy. It was also secure and the front desk staff were friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waterfront View

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Very Historic Hotel in downtown Thunder Bay, if you like history this is the place to be. Clean and tidy, could be considered out dated but I saw it more as Historic and charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Deborah from Saratoga Springs, NY

DebbyNY

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
We will go again....It was great to watch the harbour day and night... Ships all the time...Night time all lite up...We were there with a full moon...reflection on the water was awesome...Sun rise was beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly, and great value for the price of the room.
Cons: For the price, I can't really point to anything that I would expect to be any better than it was.
Location: T Bay waterfront within a block, and casino within two blocks. Also many bars and good restaurants; the Red Lion is only a block away and is awesome!
Based on the reviews, I didn't expect much during my weekend stay. However, the hotel was very comfortable. My room was clean, and there was more space than I expected. High ceilings added to a sense about the history of the hotel. The swimming pool was an added bonus, as it was above average. Sauna was not in order, but really not a big deal to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Awesome fall sunrise

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Loved waking up to the sunrise over the lake, enjoyed the breakfast every morning. Bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little gem!

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Everything! Staff, rooms, breakfast, beds, it was all nice.
Cons: I think with an older hotel like this they must make sure they keep up the maintenance and upgrading without taking away the character.
We had a one night stop here, but wish we could have stayed longer because the hotel was so nice! It's deceiving from the outside, but inside it's really a nice, old hotel. The rooms were large, tall ceilings, lots of character and we had a view of the harbour (if it hadn't been raining). This hotel was very reasonable AND we discovered it came with breakfast which was in the restaurant complete with cloth napkins and china! It was a hot breakfast, but again the view of the harbour would have been amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Malcolm from MSP

Old hotel waterfront Thunder Bay

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Picturesque alternate to standard chains near the airport. I would stay here again. BP
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Not Provided from Toronto

Antiquated or crummy?

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was very old, nothing was renovated, the staff were not very friendly. The only nice thing was a free breakfast included with our stay. If you get a lakeside view, you'll be rewarded with an amazing view of the Sleeping Giant. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone nor would I stay there again as the price and service do not warrant the trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Doris from Minnesota

Short stay

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
One night ,cool for over night and completely an adequate breakfast .try to get lake view room