Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Welland, ON

Great View - mediocre service

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Location, room size, comfy beds
Cons: better towels.. a little thicker, not like sandpaper...
Location: Best hotel for a view of the harbour in Thunder Bay. The water front is just steps away for an afternoon or evening stroll.
Checked in, friendly front desk clerk, noticed sign saying pool closed. Not a big deal, my daughter was disappointed but not a deal breaker. I asked for rooms close together, they were not able to accommodate, but on the same floor not too far apart. Hotel is older building but clean. Was pleasantly surprised by our rooms, they were clean, bright and functional and roomy. We were also surprised to find that a continental breakfast was included with our stay each day. We had had a long day on the road from Sault Ste Marie.. so just sort of chilled and made it an early night. I ate some potato chips sitting on the bed and got crumbs on the duvet, and this was what disturbed me. We got up early the next morning and headed out for a day of hiking at Sleeping Giant. When we returned the room had been made up, but the crumbs were still on the duvet. The room had a fridge, but it didn't work. Mentioned this to front desk on the way out, still the same fridge when we came back. We are planning a return to Thunder Bay again next summer and would probably stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from carolina

Walking dead

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Yes the building is old but its shouldn't affect the inside of living area. The place feel like where they comes here to die.feel very creepy when entering the room its dark furnitures old and dirty.beds are uncomfortable and dirty.people around this area looks like they half dead.should have listen to review bfore we booked this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saskatoon, sk

Very tired

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Hotel would have been grand in 1912; very tired now. Sucks to travel all day with a 6 year old who is looking forward to the pool (which is advertised) and then find out it is closed for repairs. They need to inform expedia for things like this as I would have booked elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerand

Hotel with harbor view !?

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The best in the Hotel is the Restaurant. The dinner was excellent and the waitress very friendly and helpful.
Cons: It was imoossible to make photos from the harbor view through the window because the glass is increase with a grid
But nowbody told us that between the Harbor und the Hotel the fright terminal is. During te night was such a big noise from the trains the we nearly couldn't sleep. It was horrible!!!!! The offered breakfast was very poor. No cornfakes or the like, no muesli, no Juice, no cheese.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location and Breakfast
Cons: Everything
The room quality was terrible. The hotel sucks!! Room smelled. The Pool is closed (although it is advertised in the Expedia). I asked for bath towel and they said they ran out of them and they did not give me extra bath towel!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, ns

Nice for a night

Posted Aug 23, 2015
The hotel is very old and full of history. That being said, it is in need of some updates, but overall an alright place to stay when passing through thunder bay. Great complimentary breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located in the downtown area close to the beach

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pretty good but could have been a little better. Room is pretty basic. A/C is very noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay when travelling on Budget. Clea

Posted Aug 21, 2015
We found it a fine place for modest expectations Go there
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spooky as all get out!

Posted Aug 19, 2015
When we entered our room the lights wouldn't turn on. The blackout curtains were closed and one of the decorative curtains was on the floor. The closet door was so wonky it wouldn't close. We had to prop a chair under the knob and sleep with the bathroom light on. The room was reasonably clean and beds were fairly comfortable. We got in late so the menu was a little picked over but the complimentery breakfast was good and hot. Cool old building with lots of history but a little too creepy for my liking. Oh and keep your hands and feet away from the elevator doors!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest Lake, MN

Good hotel.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Nice continental breakfast.
Cons: The pool and spa area were closed, and it was going to be down for at least two weeks. This was not mentioned when the hotel was booked.
Location: Shopping, mini golf, beautiful walking along Lake Superior.
Well maintained, very clean older hotel. It was very quiet in the evening even with a wedding party and guests on a Saturday evening/