Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge Ontario

The historical ambience makes this hotel worth it.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Although the visit started on a sour note with the unfriendly demeanor of the front desk clerk, the rest of the stay improved. The renovations made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Loved the historical and ghost history of the place. We all really enjoyed our breakfast in the elegant dining room with its panoramic view of the harbour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Central location, clean rooms yay

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Truly appreciated the great condition and cleanliness of the rooms and comfort! Right downtown and within walking distance to so many things... and we loved having free parking and breakfast. Room prices were a little high, but with the Expedia deal/rate it was so worth it. Would definitely recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs some TLC

Posted Jun 1, 2017
A historic CNR hotel near the waterfront, the casino and some good restaurants, but definitely the worse for wear - dated, peeling in spots - windows were dirty although room itself seemed reasonably clean - rooms are spacious but pretty basic in terms of furnishings -
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Clean hotel in an older restored building

Posted May 2, 2017
Decent hotel, very clean rooms and bedding. Spacious and great view of Lake Superior. Only issue I had was that they didn't have my reservation even though Expedia had confirmed my room. So I nearly lost my reservation. Luckily they had a room available but it would have been terrible if they didn't have any as it was a snowstorm and we had just driven 10 hours from Winnipeg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Turn of the century railway hotel with quality construction - a civil engineer's opinion.
We have stayed several times at the Prince Arthur Hotel when we come to Thunder Bay for medical appointments. Comfortable & a great view of Lake Superior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice quiet hotel. Great location in Port Arthur

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Beautiful historical building, rooms very comfortable, staff friendly
1 out of 5
by Morgan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

To hot to get any sleep

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Cons: Air conditioning
Nice hotel everything was great however it was 85 in the room with the windows open.It was just way to hot to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice room and hotel was in the area where we wante

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Close to good eateries
Cons: Juices at the continental breakfast.
Location: Close to downtown,restaurants and casino.It is also close to waterfront.
We enjoyed the size and comfort of the room and the view of Lake Superior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sioux lookout

Very convenient location & great value

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The shuttle, the beds, the restaurant & easy access off main arteries.
Cons: The heat system
Location: Casino close by, nice Marina across the street, good restaurants close by including fast foods. great area for walking (not in winter).
Having the shuttle & ability to leave your vehicle is great. We unfortunately arrived late & couldn,t get the room heat adjusted so suffered through a too warm short sleep. before our flight.. Beds & linen are nice, lots of room, though hotel is older. Everything works, so is good value.