Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Aged property

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Front desk staff was friendly. The bedding was comfortable but the property has not been updated and aged odor is covered with air freshener which made the odor worst.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attending a grad ceremony and visiting.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
It was a nice distance from the casino and restaurants. The room was clean, quiet. The satellite could use more channels. Beds were so comfortable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
it is ok place to stay 1 or 2 nights. price is ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from marathon

Comfortable

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Doors
Location: Convenient
Quiet, clean, friendly. Great shampoo. Typical toast, real, waffles breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay

Don't expect 5 star rooms and you'll be fine

Posted Jun 4, 2017
This hotel was exactly what I was expecting. If you want a cheap hotel and a clean and comfortable room to stay in for a few nights then you can't go wrong with Super 8. The bed was on the softer side which I loved and all the linens and towels were clean. The room wasn't dated but the colour choices for the walls were questionable. I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a few days but it's a good place to stay for a quick trip if you want to save some money. Also the staff was very nice and the breakfast was decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are always striving to improve and we appreciate feedback such as yours. We are very proud of the room renovations we have completed according to our new Super 8 Innov8te design standards. We have brand new paint, curtains, carpeting, pillow-top mattresses, pillows, bedding, furniture, LED lighting and lamps, new gas heaters and air conditioners, and fridges in all of our guest rooms. We have recently completed our lobby and breakfast room renovations, are excited to let you know that as our weather continues to co-operate, we will be focusing the renovations to the exterior of our property!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Great price, friendly staff. Room is dated, but its clean and bed is in good condition. Relatively safe area for vehicles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Overnight. Downtown, close to restaurants. Staff were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We love receiving feedback from our guests as we are always striving to improve!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: clean and nice continental breakfast.
Nice hotel.....Only thing I didn,t realize is that you have to be checked in by 11pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Super 8 Thunder Bay! Our check-in time starts at 3:00pm and our checkout time is at 11:00am. As stated on the sign on our entrance door, we do lock it from 11:00pm - 7:00am. Guestroom key cards will open that door. Anyone without a key must be let in by our Front Desk Clerk. Our Front Desk Team is available 24 hours a day to help our guests! We are sorry for any confusion this may have caused. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel is you want something less expensive

Posted May 12, 2017
I really liked staying at Super 8. Got a King bed for $95 which I thought was great. Had a good sleep and great time. Unfortunately I found that it was loud and could hear people in the halls and could hear a baby's cry in then next room. I wish it would be more sound proof.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room Smelled like smoke!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Room intake for Heater/Air Conditioner was above patio smoking area and my room smelled terribly like cigars. Very unpleasant considering the entire hotel is supposed to be smoke free.