Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great place to stay.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Excellent location easy to locate and close to shops and restaurants. Friendly staff. Clean comfortable accommodations. Great self serve breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you staying with us! We appreciate the time our guests take to review their stay as we are always striving to improve our guest experience. Thank you so much for this review. We look forward to your next stay with us!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quibell, ON

Smelly and given dirty room at first

Posted Jan 25, 2017
At check in the staff did nothing to explain hotel services, I was assigned a room that had been slept in and garbage all over, then the room I was finally given smelled awful. Had to go buy STRONG air fresheners.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are always striving to improve and we appreciate feedback such as yours. I have spoken to the team and reminded them how important it is to make sure our guests are told about the services we have to offer, such as continental breakfast hours, Wi-Fi password and that we are available 24 hours a day to help. Our housekeeping and front desk teams communicate regularly throughout the day so that everyone is aware of rooms that are cleaned, any late check outs, anyone who is staying another night etc. I am very sorry to hear that you encountered multiple issues while you were here. I am looking into this. If you would be willing to contact me at the hotel so I can clarify some information, it would be greatly appreciated. I would really like to look into these problems further and need to confirm that I have the correct information from your stay. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Below average

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The building is dated and old. The room was in better shape than the reception and hallways. The breakfast was not fresh, leftovers from days ago...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are very proud of the room renovations we have completed according to our new Super 8 Innov8te design standards. We have brand new paint, curtains, carpeting, pillow-top mattresses, pillows, bedding, furniture, LED lighting and lamps, new gas heaters and air conditioners, and fridges in all of our guest rooms. We are excited to let you know that we will be renovating our lobby and breakfast area in the New Year! We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience during breakfast. Our team has gone through all of our breakfast products to ensure that they are all fresh and not leftover from days ago. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are always striving to improve and we appreciate feedback such as yours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Room smelled like cigarettes first night. Room smelled like marijuana second night due to people in next room smoking in their bathroom. Rooms looked nothing like the Expedia website picture.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience while you were here. Our entire building is non-smoking and we do not allow our guests to smoke in their rooms. We have an area outside that our guests can use when they wish to smoke. We do have rooms that have outside access doors and if a guest was smoking outside their door, the smoke and smell may have traveled. Our Front Desk staff is available 24 hours a day to help our guests with any questions or concerns they may have. We would have gladly helped you move to a different room and looked into the source of the smoking. We have recently renovated all of our guest rooms and have worked closely with our online travel agents to ensure that only the most recent pictures of our rooms are available. We have made sure to include pictures of every room type that we have, and we can assure you that the pictures on that particular website are in fact the most current pictures of our rooms. Thank you again for your review. We are always striving to improve and we appreciate feedback such as yours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Newly Renovated and spacious. Great deal for the price paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are always striving to improve and we appreciate feedback such as yours. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from on

Good medical rate

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Play bingo :) and shopping
It was clean comfortable and quiet Enjoyed breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We appreciate all the feedback our guests provide us. We always strive to improve and provide the super service our guests deserve! We look forward to your next stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Very comfortable

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Robins' coffee is next door & Boston Pizza is walking distance for dinner & drinks
In room fridge is a must. Lots of light with plenty of pillows on a comfortable queen bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are very proud of the room renovations we have completed according to our new Super 8 Innov8te design standards. We have brand new paint, curtains, carpeting, pillow-top mattresses, pillows, bedding, furniture, LED lighting and lamps, new gas heaters and air conditioners and fridges in all of our guest rooms. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests and are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our renovated rooms! We look forward to your next stay with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convient location

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Went for business hotel met what I needed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that we were able to meet your needs while you were here and look forward to your next stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the price

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Our check in was quick and easy. Front desk staff was efficient. Room had two doors, one from inside corridor and one to the outside. Our room had queen bed and sofa. I thought that the TV should have been in front of the sofa but it was in front of the bed. This is probably good to most people though. Also had a fridge. The room was plain but clean. Looked like it had been recently renovated. Bathroom came with lots of towels and face clothes. The usual shampoo, conditioner, lotion came with the room. Loved the little soap as it had bumps on one side and felt like it was cleaning your hand nicely. Breakfast was included. There was 3 kinds of cereal, oatmeal, hot & cold boiled eggs, 4 varieties of yogurt, coffees, teas, juices, waffles and toast. I didn't explore the toast & waffles station so there may have been more there. Not sure what more you should expect from a breakfast included with this price. It wasn't fancy by any means but then we weren't paying a fancy price. We spoke with staff on all different shifts. Afternoon guy very helpful and friendly. Overnight woman was efficient. We expected to stay five nights and checked out after two as we no longer needed to stay in Thunder Bay. We'd stay here again.
Cons: Can't say that there is anything we didn't like about the hotel or neighbourhood.
Location: The hotel is on is the same road as St. Joseph's Hospital. Boston Pizza was a quick walk away. Best BP's. Robin's Donuts next door (didn't go tho)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very proud of the room renovations we have completed according to our new Super 8 Innov8te design standards and we work hard to make sure our guests have a super stay with us. We appreciate all of our guests' feedback! We look forward to seeing you again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not disability friendly

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
definitely not disability friendly, no elevators no ramps, had to struggle with getting luggage through the door, doors difficult to open when bringing in luggage.