Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Just ok

Posted Aug 17, 2017
First room given smelled like smoke. Front desk was able to switch our room. Pool was closed, kids were very disappointed after an 8 hour drive. Beds were comfortable. Renos of room was cosmetic. Bathroom was not the cleanest. Continental breakfast was fine. Overall it was just ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Nice hotel, smaller rooms but adequate.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Very clean. Staff very helpful. Manager Nick was awesome. Will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. Happy we were able to help. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Avoid

Posted Jul 13, 2017
I've stayed at a few travel lodges and will never be back to this one! I wanted to sleep in my clothing and was scared to take my shoes off! Room was gross - even found stuff under the bed from previous guests!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you visit wasn't what was expected. I can assure you this is not indicative of how we do things. We will address all of the issues. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The breakfast is too simple.We lost our power twice and have to change our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Brooke, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you experienced these issues, we will look into the matter further. Thanks for your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice place

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Bummer that the pool heater was broken but otherwise pleased
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Good to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. Hopefully the heater will be installed this week. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The rooms. were small , and there was mold and mildew in the bathroom, there for three nights and only one room service
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We will address the issues you had with the room immediately. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We checked in late and had booked our room on Expedia days in advance of our stay. Upon arrival, the clerk did not seem to know we were coming and took a long time to check us in. It was midnight and we just wanted to sleep after being in a car driving all day. Our room was supposed to be a king suite but the bed we got was definitely no bigger than a double. The walls were paper thin and the doors dividing sections of the hallway were very loud with people constantly coming through them after midnight. We woke up at 3am to let our dog outside and the entire hallway reeked of weed. Someone had been smoking weed in their room and the smell seeped through the hallways into our room when we opened the door. Also our bathroom was very aged and the wallpaper was peeling and curled. I would not recommend this hotel and am not impressed with the quality of our experience considering the room cost us $120.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know. We will up our efforts to ensure all of your concerns are addressed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Catharines, ON

Nice Room

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Staff and room cleanliness
Cons: The[ pool heater should be fixed
The staff were quite nice and the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was always clean and tidy thanks to the staff member who was present to clean up. The only downside was that the pool heater was not working which made it very cold for swimming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Good to hear your stay was a pleasant one. The pool heater has been hit and miss as of late but is being replaced. Thanks for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to highway

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Easy access from highway, good breakfast and friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. Nice to hear you had a pleasant stay. Thanks again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Mildew smell in the room. Mold in the bathroom. Overall not a goid stay. Would not recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
So Sorry about your stay. We just went through a small bathroom reno in a lot of the rooms. We are addressing the rest of them during our inspections. Thanks for letting us know.