Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of Mount McKay

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Fast easy check in great view of mountain easy drive up perfect room location in hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Easy and comfortable!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Hotel room was big, all amenities. Staff was really helpful and friendly. Shuttle service was a great feature and the hotel has a fantastic coffee restaurant in lobby that opens EARLY for you. Pool/hot tub and sauna area clean, and saw that they regularly test water. Would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Hotel is clean and staff is friendly. Particularly love the free parking and shuttle to the airport. Have stayed her a few times and have always enjoyed my stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay ON

Close to airport, large rooms, need of renovations

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Good overall, staff seem to be helpful and we'll trained. Impressive oak wood work all over. Clean large room but noisy heater and fridge. Price should be less until some upgrades are done.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great room, great dining, amazing front desk staff

Posted Nov 15, 2016
great room, great dining, amazing front desk staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Ambiance agréable

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: L'ambiance est agréable, mais sans plus. J'ai apprécié la porte-fenêtre pouvant s'ouvrir sur un petit jardin.
Cons: Les oreillers. Pas de choix d'oreillers, les miens étaient épais et durs et l'un sentait le tabac.
Location: Le restaurant de l'établissement offre une cuisine que, pour être poli, l'on pourra qualifier de "sans prétention gastronomique".
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deceiving pictures

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing
My room wasn't to my standards, the room was outdated, I found crumbs under my pillows, dust and hair in the bathroom. Poor housekeeping. The fridge door was greasy (handle) and we are never staying there again. I was talking to my brother on the phone and he mentioned that when he stayed there too in the past he found female panties in between the sheets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Lauri, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent visit. We do apologize that your guestroom did not meet your expectations and it is through the valuable feedback of our guests that we are able to identify areas for improvement. Your comments have been shared with our housekeeping team for their review and immediate attention and this is not the standard that we want to provide our guests. We do hope that you will consider staying with us on a future visit so that we can win back your confidence. Lauri Hoskins Director of Sales
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thorold

Horrible receptionist - and awful musty smell in..

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: close to airport and nice shuttle - with great driver.
Cons: the receptionist Jeff - was not happy to work there, and I felt it. The room had a musty mildew smell. If you want a renovated room (safer) you have to play much more ? Best to Avoid, I deeply regret staying there- I had no idea such places existed the way they are - and yet pretend all is great = awful
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Lauri, Hotel Management
Joanna, Thank your taking the time to share comments for your recent and visit and do apologize that you were not satisfied. Our hotel has undergone significant invest to 3 of our 5 floors of guestrooms and public areas and plans are currently underway for additional guestroom updates. Our goal is still to provide clean and comfortable accommodations in all of rooms. Your feedback with be shared with our team for the review and attention. We do hope that you reconsider staying with us again in the future so that we can win back your confidence. Lauri Hoskins Director of Sales
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, Ont

Convenience

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Pleasant (garden view) Rooms, friendly staff & convenient to airport and driving to see family.
Cons: Wifi is quite slow. Shower curtains are frustrating --need magnets on the bottom edges to attach to tub.
Location: Easy access to main roads. This was a memorial journey for our family. Our agenda included the Terry Fox monument, the Finn District & Hillcrest Park
Hotel staff were friendly, room was pleasant (garden view), good breakfast and wait staff. We have stayed at the Valhalla in Toronto in the past and always enjoyed our time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Lauri, Hotel Management
Jan, Thank you for choosing the Valhalla Inn and taking the time to share your comments and suggestions. We look forward to welcoming you back on future visits to the area. Lauri Hoskins Director of Sales
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Düsseldorf

Standard vor 25 Jahren

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Shuttle-Service
Cons: Zimmerausstattung von 25 Jahren, Beschädigungen, eigentlich runtergekommen. Ein Sanierungsfall.
Location: Thunderbay, ca. 2 km vom Airport. Nicht wirklich viel.
Der erste Eindruck kann täuschen... das habe ich hier erlebt. Leider ist die Auswahl in Thunderbay beschränkt. Das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis mehr als entschäuschend. Wenn nichts anderes geht, dann Valhalla Inn. Die Nähe zum kleinen Airport und der freundliche Shuttle-Service dahin sind das einzige Highlight.