Ratings based on 808 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to the airport

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Staff are very friendly
Very close to the airport and very clean enjoy my 24 hrs here . Would definitely recommend to anyone going to Thunder Bay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Emo Ont

Quick Stay

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Made a quick trip in to Tbay and stayed here for the night. Check in was quick, room was clean and there is a great Greek restaurant called Naxo's across the street!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Hello Dayle, Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back soon. Raymond General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg Manitoba

Great staff, Bad Odour

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. However the hallways smelled of smoke. We were on the second floor no where near a doorway. They say it's a non smoking hotel but people didn't get the memo. Rates where not the cheapest out there so we expected more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Hello Jason, Sorry for your inconvenience. I will address the concern of smoke with our floor managers. We need to be catching this within our patrols. I do hope that we have the pleasure of your return,. Raymond General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sudbury ontario

Great family hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Clean hotel, friendly staff, nice pool and water slide, nice restaurant in hotel overlooking pool, in great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Hello Lacey, Thank you for the great review. Raymond General manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WINNIPEG

Poor First impression

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: fun waterslids
Cons: time for a facelift - even if things are old they can be CLEANED!
Location: amethyst mine!
walked into a room with a long dark hair across the toilet seat + gum, rips and stains in the carpet. they had a little card that said "110% clean guaranteed" or a free night. I asked for 2 days of free breakfasts instead and they were happy to accomodate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Hello S, We are looking into your concerns with regard to the standard reminders with out team. Our guarantee is honored if we are notified at time of check in and we are not able to resolve and issue presented. We do work hard to ensure rooms are up to standard and appreciate your sharing your experience. Raymond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock, Ontario

Just an overnight

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Location: Lots near by.
Really didn't have a long enough time at this hotel to give an ample review as was just there late one night and left early the next day. But for the short stay it was quite adequate. Shuttle driver from airport very friendly as was the front desk staff working at 2 am. Room was very clean and even sofa bed was comfortable. Would definitely recommend that Victoria Inn to anyone looking for accommodation in Thunder Bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Hello Kathy, Thank you for the great review. I hope your next stay is a bit longer. Raymond General Manage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Nice place for the price

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Free covered motorcycle parking by front door is a nice perk. The hotel is conveniently located next to a grocery store. We did not try the restaurant in the hotel so I can't speak to that. The room was mostly clean looking but there was hair in the soap holder in the shower. I didn't see this until showering just before check-out so I did not report it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Raymond General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thinder Bay

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Very busy and noisy hotel. A/C didn't work so room was very warm . Restaurant stopped taking pple because one of the cooks didn't show up. I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Thank you for the reply, We have looked into the staffing concern and are confident it was an isolated incident. Raymond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, ON

Great water fun for kids!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The pool and waterslide are great for kids.
Cons: It could be slightly more modern looking, and more attention to details such as towels. The towels looked like they had been around for awhile.
Location: Great location so close to the airport, grocery store next door, pharmacy across the street, and lots of eateries within walking distance.
I chose this hotel for it's mini water park. It did not disappoint. My 12 year daughter had a great time in it. There is a decent size wading pool for small children, a hot tub for adults and a great water slide for both kids and adults. The pool area was kept clean and there were 2 lifeguards on duty. The only suggestion I would make for hotel management is to add a few more tables and chairs for guests who don't have a poolside room. The gym was a bit disappointing. Equipment included 3 treadmills (with wall-mounted TVs in front, so that was nice), 2 bicycles, a bench and some free weights. I would have really liked a mat to do some post-workout stretching but there were none. That being said, the floor was surprisingly clean for a gym so I just used that. I would have liked some water too, but the water jug was empty. The staff were friendly and accommodating. When I needed cutlery for some leftover takeout in my room, the restaurant staff did not hesitate to offer me real cutlery to borrow. Overall, not a bad experience, although more attention could be paid to small details (ie. fresher, nicely folded towels, more modern looking elevator, etc.). I would stay in this hotel again for the pool when travelling with kids, but if travelling by myself or another adult, I might chose something more modern, depending on cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Hello Paula, Thank you for the great review. I am glad we met your families expectations. Raymond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sudbury, on

Nice hotel located by the airport

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Even during renovations it was still a clean place
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Hello Becca, Thank you for the great review. We are working hard to ensure a clean facility with great customer service. I hope you have the chance to stay with us again. Raymond General Manager