Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

non-responding staff

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Cons: Staff service
Hotel was agreeable, service was not. There was no one at the reception desk when I called about 9pm from my room. I tried 5 minutes later, no response. This is not what I call friendly, responsive staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Not as welcoming as it should be.

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Generally the hotel was very comfortable but the room cleaning was not that thorough, eg glasses left unwashed. In addition the receptionist who checked us in and out was brusque, unfriendly and extremely unwelcoming and I got the impression she had no time for British people, even though I speak German. We felt more tolerated than welcome at the hotel, albeit some of the staff were more pleasant, and won't be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel with great location in town

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, service
Cons: Nothing
Location: Buchenwald; Franz Liszt house
First time in Weimar.....Visited Buchenwld Concentration Camp......Convenient location, nice hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david from seattle

great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: very elegant
Cons: rooms are very small. hard to move around in them with two suit cases/
Location: location is great. right in the middle of things
great location . helpful staff. easy to deal with and use a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from Western Australia

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: It was right in the centre of the old part of Weimar, and even though probably only the facade is original, it maintains a sense of history.
Location: It is within walking distance of everything in the old town - shops, restaurants, museums - and most of the local buses stop just in front of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sumo

Good hotel in the centre of town

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: The terrace, the internet and the slippers!
Cons: No security tag on the minibar. I didn't want any of the drinks, but I would have liked to have put my drink in the fridge.
Location: Everything! Weimar is on your doorstep.
This is a lovely hotel, well situated in the centre of town. The room was big and the bed comfortable. I also had a terrace, which was a treat in the sunshine. Internet access was included too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenda from Calgary, AB, Canada

Restored to Beauty

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: The beauty of the front lobby.
Cons: None
Location: A little tricky to find but well worth it.
This is a beautifully restored 200 year old building with much charm and beauty. It's location is perfect for wandering through the small town to enjoy the cafes and shops. The entry with its massive chandelier is breathtaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Nov 15, 2012
As my daughter and I were both ill for the duration of our stay it is hard to comment. The room was comfortable. Unfortunately, we are only English speaking so not being able to access English subtitles on the television was disappointing as that was our only form of entertainment, however, it is our fault that we've never learned a second language I suppose!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean nice hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2012
Location: near old center of town.
This was our first hotel that we stayed in in Germany. It is in a beautiful old building and is within easy walking distince of the historic part of town. The staff was friendly but most did not speak English. The rooms are on the small side but quiet and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Seattle, WA

Weimar gem

Posted Feb 14, 2012
Pros: Big pillows! I want one at home!
Cons: The room was a bit hot, so ended cracking the window very slightly in order to comfotably sleep with a down comforter
Location: Very convenient to the train station and historic Weimar. Trip to Buchenwald was easy on No. 6 bus that stops right in front of the hotel
The hotel is well located for enjoying the central historical district of Weimar. The beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet. For a European hotel, the room was quite large. Internet connection was a bit spotty during the day, but generally worked well in the evenings.