Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Joerg

Nice and clean hotel, a little bit noisy.

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
A little bit noisy, neighborsroom snoring was clearly audible through the wall, otherwise a nice and clean hotel, easily accessible from the trainstation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Terrible service. Stuff so unpleasant. Nice building converted into hotel but rooms are very outdated, bed,shower,amenities... 2* max. Breakfast and the stuff there is the best part of this very sad selection . The castle nearby is worth the agony
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good 3 star hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Location is on the corner just about entering old town center. It's fine, Stuff is horrible, dry, un helpful and not cordial ( both afternoon and next morning shifts ) Horrible experience with the WiFi. Not recommended to anyone who needs to work. The receptionist is also the barista and the beauty of the lobby evaporates with the quality of service. Room beds are top soft, curtains don't make the room dark, and the fan of the air-conditioning is noisy.. Beautiful city and the castle is a treat
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal mid town centre site....however!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast meal was well up to standard. The bedroom was comfortable.
Cons: More thought be put into keeping guests/future guests updated.
Location: The town and local Castle (Burg) is steeped in history. Our guided tour of the castle was supurb.
The hotel is obviously undergoing refurbishment. I find it difficult to understand timing such an activity for mid summer. There was no inhouse dining room other than for breakfast. It was suggested that evening meals were tken at a sister hotel 10 minutes walk away. There was no room service (food) available. During our stay work was going on on our landing, I presume refurbishing bedrooms. Carpets on ground level areas were alsobeing lifted and replaced. Warnings of these activities prior to arrival should have been given. The Hotel as obviously had some standing in the town and sells itself as such, but at the time we were there it fell short. I understand that an overnight parking fee could be charged....even though the parking was an outside open carpark but I feel that for someone who was parking for 11 nights a reduction on daily rate could have been offered. At times the park was inadequate for the number of guests staying.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Air Conditioning/Fans in Rooms!

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
For a hot summer day without Air Conditioning is impossible. Cant keep the windows open because of the noise from traffic outside. The complimentary breakfast was excelent.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan from Geilenkirchen Germany

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay there was great. The room was fairly large and the breakfast had a good selection. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to all we wanted to see

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Everything at the hotel was fine staff where friendly room was clean and the hotel was close to eveything we wanted to see.
4 out of 5
by Samantha from Colchester

Classic and elegant hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice classic hotel with friendly staff, good wifi. Very comfortable beds and quiet rooms, although quite small. Excellent location and decent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Gasgow, Nova Scotia, CAN

Nice Traditional Hotel Downtown

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Old world charm, close to downtown
Location: Shop and dine. Visit the Wartburg
Stayed one night. Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkshire england

historical hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
this was my 5th visit to this hotel. the staff are always friendly and helpful. a nice breakfast is provided. the Hotel has a lot of character and is steeped in history. Will be returning again next year!