Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Do not book

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Although the hotel location is nice, I suggest that visitors stay away if possible. To begin with, the breakfast buffet was a big disappointment. Secondly, the staff was rude. The air conditioning was a myth. All the settings on the control panel were fiction. You could at best turn it on or off. The temperature was set by the hotel. The air conditioner did not function at first and only after arrival of a technician was it put into "action". It took half the night to reach a bearable temperature. As a result, the next day was a total loss.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC, Canada

Hotel with easy access to the park

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: The location was nice, and walkable.
Cons: The rooms could use some renovations.
Location: The main park in Weimar is right across the street.
The hotel was nice, but the rooms were a little dated. The location had easy access to the park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel a short bus ride from downtown.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Good value, not too far from downtown Weimar.
Location: Weimar is a very nice city. Lots of cultural things to do.
Reasonable value hotel. Room was clean and comfortable, decor a bit dated, but overall fine for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa / Pool attendant

Posted Feb 26, 2014
My 11 year old swallowed water whilst swimming and started coughing. She spat the water out. The attendant came at us like a bull-dog, shouting from across the pool that my daughter should not spit into the pool. I explained to the attendant what had happened. Not interested! Then this person proceeded to complain to another guest at pool side, about how some people don't have any manners. Really?! Not a "kid are you ok?" or such. This has been my fourth or fifth stay over the last 2 years. Never again. My kid was so intimidated, that she stopped having fun and we left the pool. Note, bar staff is extremely professional and polite!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from south bend, in

exactly what they said it was.

Posted Apr 13, 2011
A very nice hotel in a perfect location...10 min walk to Goethe Platz. And lets face it there is no bad 10 min walk in Weimar. It is in a nice neighborhood and on der Park on der Ilm. We did not have a room with a park view. I asked to be moved to a room with a view and it was no problem. It is nice to know what your getting before u get there!! thanks Expedia...well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Tree lined easy walk to town.

Posted Jul 29, 2009
Pleasant modern hotel 10 minute walk from town. Bikes for hire...make sure you know what you get...I had one with a back-pedal break...on a modern looking bike. The fish buffet was a treat for us, especially the cold buffet and the deserts. I would strongly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oakland, Ca

High quality large hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2009
A quality hotel at a reasonable price, but it is a large business, convention hotel. Don't expect to find elves and lederhosen there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Outside City but Very Nice and Affordable

Posted Jul 30, 2008
The Leonardo is a little bit of a hike outside Weimar proper, and it is on the opposite side of the main city area from the train station. This made it seem like a long hike to get there (it took about 45 minutes to walk). The hotel itself was really nice, and the staff were excellent. You can rent bicycles fairly affordably (though you may have to make a reservation). Our room was very clean, and well kept up, and having the Ilm River Park across the street made for a nice walk to and from town even if it was a little farther than we would have liked. The only downsides were that the air conditioning wasn't very strong, which seems to be a common issue in German hotel rooms, and the distance from town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Peaceful Parkside Hotel in Weimar

Posted Aug 5, 2007
This is a peaceful hotel just across from the Park an der Ilm (Goethe Park). The staff is so accommodating and kind. I was first given a room on the sixth floor with no view of the park, and when I asked for a room with a view, they moved me to the fourth floor to a room facing the park. Floors 3 and 4 are the business/executive floors. The business floors are much nicer than the other floors (with complimentary water, a coffee machine), so be sure to ask for a room on one of those floors. Breakfast was excellent. The staff in the restaurant was very attentive and friendly. The spa area is relaxing. The pool is fine for some light lap-swimming, there is a nice Jacuzzi: all was clean. The sauna area is very well equipped, with dunking tubs, cold showers, foot baths, and a Ruheraum (resting room). The workout room is small, but who wants to use a machine, when just across the street there are miles of beautiful running paths? There is even a Bowling Bistro in the hotel, with two full-size bowling lanes. There is a bus stop just across the street, and with Bus Line 1 you can get from the Bahnhof to the hotel and back. Line 1 also takes you to all points of interest in town. The walk from the hotel to town is just about 15 minutes through the park, and it is a lovely walk. I would certainly stay here again, and I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Weimar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel in Zentrumsnähe

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Zimmergröße
- mit dem Bus ist man in ein paar Minuten im Zentrum, einfach super - nettes Team, tolles Frühstück, geräumiges Zimmer