Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

vey nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Very close to the old quarter of Erfurt, excellent breakfast. I had a very enjoyable stay at the Mercure Erfurt and would stay there again. I recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: Central location and Internet provision
Cons: No safe in room( although you could leave at front desk)
Location: Near rail and trams. Near many restaurants and shops
The hotel was very central to all sights and transport. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided in rooms.internet in lobby is free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Chicago, IL, USA

Great hotel in excellent location.

Posted Aug 31, 2012
Pros: Small, clean, parking.
Location: We left our rental car in the hotel parking lot and walked to everything.
A nice, clean, small hotel, in an excellent location in Erfurt Germany. We were able to walk to just about everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CA

Great Location

Posted Sep 17, 2011
If you are staying in Erfurt, the Mercure is in a great location close to the "Bridge" and near quality restaurants. The hotel is friendly, clean, and serves a terrific breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richard from Pittsburgh, PA

Great stay in Erfurt

Posted Jan 30, 2011
I was in Erfurt for a short business trup. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very accommodating even to some needs of ours that were not common. We had two dinners in the hotel restaurant because our work required us to eat very late in the evening, and both were excellent. The location, right by Anger Square, is very convenient and very close to most of the major tram lines. I highly recommend the Mercure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

No air conditioning

Posted Jul 19, 2010
I wish I could recommend this hotel. It is situated almost at the very heart of Erfurt’s beautiful old town. It is about 10 min walk from the main station. There is a supermarket around the corner (open till 8pm). The choice you get at breakfast is phenomenal (but at 17 Euro per person also phenomenally expensive, and if you have a small appetite like me you will leave feeling a bit robbed). The reason we cannot recommend this hotel is the missing air conditioning. This is quite a surprising omission in a newly built 4star hotel. We happened to stay there during a heat wave (36C outside) and naturally had to leave the windows open at night. This didn’t make a big difference to the temperature though. It stayed very hot in the room, certainly around 30C. The street down below is a small one-way street but it was incredibly noisy all through the night and once the night noise was over the bread van arrived at 5am, closely followed by the road sweeping machines. Anyone walking past chatting in the night could be overheard very clearly in our room, cars and motorbikes almost invariably revved up right outside the window. In other words – it was a bit of a nightmare. Having said that, Erfurt is a wonderful place during the daytime and I can only warmly recommend it to anyone. If you do book a room at the Mercure, stay away from any ‘Hot Deals’ in the summer but go for a Comfort Room in the higher price category (they face they courtyard).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE

Lucky find

Posted May 16, 2010
We were in Erfurt for the Weinachtsmarkt and had difficulty finding a hotel for the week-end. This was one of our only options, within walking distance. It is well located for the train station, tram service and shopping area. It is a very nice, modern, clean hotel with pleasant staff. We would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London or Sesmarias, Portugal

Right Price for the quality of this hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2009
the hotel staff are very friendly, much of the hotel is modern and clean. a good level of service and the german efficency shines through. the restaurant food is of a very good standard especially if you are fed up with Brakfaust.Breakfast was good and the selection to cover international tastes. overall a good stay. watch for the over booking at festival times though!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Building site

Posted Aug 8, 2008
The hotel is being renovated, but I guess they were coping. The reception was friendly. The room was clean but with no air conditioning was unbearably hot for most of the night and so I got little sleep. Breakfast was poor value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superior room was not worth the extra fee

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Location
I reserved superior room, but I was disappointed at the narrowness of the room. According to the explanations of hotel persons, the difference between superior room and standard room is only minibar free service, and the rooms itself are completely same. The price of superior is relatively more expensive than standard, and I never pay surcharge for "superior = minibar service", if I use this hotel again. The location is really wonderful to access the main sight-seeing spots in Erfurt, and the service level of hotel staffs are acceptable (The waiters and waitresses at breakfast room was very freindlly) . The miss of my reservation was to pay extra fee for worthless superior room.