Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Couldn't be better. We loved the view of the old observatory from our window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, A. Zeitler General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017
Sehr geehrter Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre positive Bewertung. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu können. Freundliche Grüße, A. Zeitler General Manager
3 out of 5
by Matthew

2 nights in Jena

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Traveling on business for a couple of night, its in a great location to get into the center of town within a couple of mins walk. The room was spacious and had all the required amenities, my issue came with the bathroom where the water was not working when i first entered. I found a couple of taps on a wall which seemed to be a master valve for room water. I ran the sink and shower after arriving late i wanted to freshen up but the water was a rusty orange color. It was clear that the room mustn't have been used for a long time as after 10 mins of running the taps the water cleaned up. It wasn't the most appealing after a long days travelling to brush your teeth in. the other grumble was the room was very noisy during the early hours, with what sounded like trolleys being moved across a hard floor above my head from the floor above. The staff are polite and attentive at breakfast and the selection is very good, the hotel is clean and tidy in all other areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017
Dear Matthew, Thank you for your time to rate your stay. We are glad that you mostly enjoyed it. We apologize profusely for the inconvenience with the water. Currently we change the water pipes in our house and we hope to satisfy your expectation at your next stay. Kind regards, A.Zeitler General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Well placed business hotel in the centre of town

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Central, clean, comfort, free wifi
Cons: More choice in restaurant
Location: Very central, next to main shopping mall and streets as well as the university and concert venues
Good hotel, good central location, very clean and comfortable, free WiFi. Overall really good value although the breakfasts are comparatively expensive. Mostly set up for business visitors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by A. Zeitler (General Manager) , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your good review and for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Excellent hotel with amazing breakfast

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Big, comfortable rooms, great service, amazing breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017
Dear Andrew, Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, A.Zeitler General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The check-in staff wasn't too pleased with my booking through Expedia! He told me that I have a very special price and can't get airline mileage points. All in all I had a good stay but the check in could have gone smoother.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the balcony

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great centrally located hotel. The balcony was a major plus and a great place to enjoy the view!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, The management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jena, Germany

Very comfortable stay

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean, comfortable large room, very comfortable bed, convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, The management