Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Well placed business hotel in the centre of town

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Central, clean, comfort, free wifi
Cons: More choice in restaurant
Location: Very central, next to main shopping mall and streets as well as the university and concert venues
Good hotel, good central location, very clean and comfortable, free WiFi. Overall really good value although the breakfasts are comparatively expensive. Mostly set up for business visitors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by A. Zeitler (General Manager) , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your good review and for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Excellent hotel with amazing breakfast

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Big, comfortable rooms, great service, amazing breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017
Dear Andrew, Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, A.Zeitler General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The check-in staff wasn't too pleased with my booking through Expedia! He told me that I have a very special price and can't get airline mileage points. All in all I had a good stay but the check in could have gone smoother.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the balcony

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great centrally located hotel. The balcony was a major plus and a great place to enjoy the view!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, The management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jena, Germany

Very comfortable stay

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean, comfortable large room, very comfortable bed, convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, The management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location is good, clean and well maintained, nice little bar.
Cons: The internet should be faster. Inconsistency in the attitude of staff, some very good, others not. The hotel parking has a very inconvenient entrance.
Location: Shopping, many restaurants within walking distance.
Enjoyed my stay in Jena, great city to visit. Overall experience in the city was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Direktion, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our hotel. With kind regards, The management
3 out of 5
by John from Innerleithen, UK

Steigenberger Esplanade Jena hot house

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Glad I was only staying for 1-night! Found the hotel expensive for what was on offer. Air conditioning was non existent. No temperature control in the room, I contacted reception to complain but this made no difference. I had little or no sleep due to the temperature in the room. Windows have a sign saying air conditioning will switch off if opened but at least by doing this got some cool air in the room. Not what would have expected from a hotel of this standard. Do not know if booking through Hotels.com I was given a poor room?
5 out of 5
by Jairo from Pittsburgh, PA

Comfortable stay in Jena

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very good hotel. WiFi is extremely slow, so if you want a high speed WiFi you need to pay extra $8 per day. Not a good choice, but keep in mind this.