Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Balerno, Edinburgh, UK

Adequate, but tired, with good staff

Posted Apr 23, 2018
This hotel is certainly central in Thurso, overlooking the main square. The interior decor is more tired than quaint, but fortunately the rooms are better than the common spaces. The staff were all attentive,certainly helpful, relaxed and friendly. The TV in the room was tiny and there was no milk on one of our rooms for tea, but hey, life goes on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Disappointing

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Pros: Not a lot.
Cons: It needs a total update, with decent food available.
Location: In town but not a lot happens hence decent food at the hotel is a must.
The rooms were old and dated with no food available to me as a vegan, not even a bowl of chips! One lady, working the bar, was lovely but the whole place was quite depressing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Posted Apr 3, 2018
There was no connector for the lamps only. dirty was the plate of unmanageable service, unattractive receptionist, no insulation window came in the cold, broken bathroom wash basin, dirty carpet.
5 out of 5
by Lars

Posted Dec 13, 2017 on Hotels
Big thanks to Rose with staff, and Angus who helped us change a flat tire on our car. High quality service!! We are very grateful. Lars and Inger Eurenius Sweden
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good stay

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: The staff tried to be helpful
Cons: Almost everything!
Location: The location was fine.
We left after two nights despite having paid upfront for five nights. The hotel was really run down and dated and there were grease spots on the wall behind the headboards for the beds where people had rested their heads and it was not cleaned. The walls were really thin and you could hear conversations in the next room. I had to ask for a change of room twice. I asked for a boiled egg at breakfast and despite asking for it to be cooked firm, it came to the table almost raw. The carpet was loose on the stairs and I slipped on it - the hotel is desperately needing a renovation. The staff did try but the hotel really was a rather drafty, dismal and disappointing place to be.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Overnight stop prior to visiting Orkney

Posted Nov 29, 2017
I had leave well before breakfast to catch a train to Stirling (0650 departure) the staff arranged for a take away breakfast that was ready at the front desk when I left. Front desk were also instrumental in getting me a taxi when the service I intended to use was not available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Close to everything

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Very nice clean hotel friendly staff good food large clean room but very small TV.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Pleasing hotel about to have well earned makeover

Posted Nov 23, 2017
We all enjoyed staying here ... breakfast was good ... and the hotel was close for driving to Scrabater ferry
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
The breakfast was brilliant and it was served by two lovely lads. It's a noisy street and I've never been in a room with sliding doors to the toilet that don't lock. The food made up for a lot