Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Needs improving

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Cons: Staff training, cleaning in rooms, information on local activities, info on the hotel and meals.
Location: Walking along the seashore.
Old and tired hotel. Room was noisy overlooking the main road and traffic lights. Noisy coaches outside at 7.00am with engines running for half an hour and on mentioning this to the staff the response was there isn't one tomorrow! The waiting staff in the dining room clearly needed to undergo training, poor hygiene techniques and wrong orders given. On check out no questions as to whether we had a good stay, staff need to learn customer care. Would not return, sorry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central to the town

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly and homely hotel
Cons: None
Location: lovely beach Plenty of shops Big beach and handy for John O groats
very comfortable room Breakfast was sufficient and staff very friendly No problems during our stay and will be back
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very poor hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
To old hotel not very clean would not stay here again need up date I would not stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

It was in the centre of town and convenient.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
It is a trifle run down and needs serious money spent to bring it up to today's standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, Suffolk UK

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Reasonable hotel, fairly close to local amenities. Check in time is from 3pm, so if you arrive on the 2.24pm train from Inverness your room might not be ready!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just for short periods.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The hotel is regular. It's not the worst hotel, but it's not the best. It's ok to spend the night. Rooms are very tidy and clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Redeeming feature.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: It's location.
Cons: Everything,a new coat of paint,new carpets,a good internet upgrade.
Location: It is in the centre of the town close to shop and restaurants.
Hotel was old,has not been upgraded for years. Hotel advertised with free wifi in every room,needless to say there was no wifi in the room. Only wifi was in the common area. PowerPoint broken.Bedside lamps not working. In the morning we ordered eggs with toast,first eggs were brought out 5 minutes later the toast. All in all a most unpleasant stay,not in the caliber of other venues supported by Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located

Posted Jul 1, 2017
This is a well located and had a good stay for two nights. It does everything it should and I would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington d.c

Home from home

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Best hotel I have ever stayed in! I travel the world with my job and this place is the best by far. Always stay here when I'm up that way! It really is home from home. Keep up the good work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
We were travelling with a person with walking difficulties, although not adapted for this type of use, they were really helpful and did the best they could, which made access possble.