Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel with very big and comfortable rooms.

Posted Dec 7, 2017
This hotel is very nice and located on a busy area. You can walk to shopping area and ... ! The view from the rooms is not special , but the room is very beautiful and big and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marketed as 5 star bit really is only 4 star.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The hotel was falsely marketed as 5 star with heated swimming pool and gym. Tgere is no heated pool or gym. Plain false advertising. Internet is not existing. Location is central but tgat is just about tge only thing that this hotel has going for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicester

false advertising

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: the staff were all trying to make our stay as pleasant as possible, Danny was extremely helpful and a credit to the hotel.
Cons: all of the above- no more false information - a bar - more correct information of what the hotel can offer
Location: the location was quite handy for the fair there are no bars or restaurants in this area unless you want fast food or to eat before 6pm
on your Expedia web site you show a picture of a very nice swimming pool, this was one of the very reasons we booked this hotel, also that it states that it has a Full-service spa and a Bar/lounge. all the things that you expect fro a 5 star hotel to relax after a day at the canton fair. There has not been a swimming pool at this hotel for over 5 years, the spa wanted to charge us for the use. we were not allowed together and the staff were shouting at each other. the hotel does not have a bar. No WiFi all the time we stayed, were first told the engineer was working on it then inform no you can not get WiFi in the hotel ! needed WiFi for business whilst in China, compare prices etc whilst at the Canton fair. no food available after 9pm in the hotel other than room service which it took 3/4 hour to order. No heating in the room told be the assistant manager turn off the aircon !! (aircon wasn't on) totally disappointed will expect compensation for this trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Gillian, Hotel Management
Greetings from Royal Mediterranean Hotel! According the your message, I reported the case to your management office, and we are concerning about that. Something was wrong, I must clear out: 1) The swiming pool --On the hotel 12th floor, have SPA center, in there have food massage, private cinema, Hot Spring Pool,sauna etc. The items are not free for guest. 2) The bar --On the hotel lobby, have the lobby bar. 3)Wifi --On Oct. 15th 12:00 to Oct.16th 17:30, because during this period the communication cables was damaged by typhoon, not only the hotel also the nearly area didn't have any network. And this situation was finished at about Oct.16th 17:30. 4) Not food abailable after 9:00 p.m. --On the hotel 2nd floor the wester restaurant(The Our's Western Restaurant) can take the order, the last order is 11:30p.m., the restaurant closed at 24:00. I don't think the room sevice need 3-4 hours to take the order. 5) No heating As the now the tempreature in Guangzhou is 18-29℃, do the guest really need heating? The hotel have heating, but just provide in the winter. We receive your complain via Expedia, and we also reply the complain on the same day. Once again we are so sorry your unhappy experience during your stay. Rgs,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thailand

very good for canton fair buyer

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Location: 3 mins from metro station. many shopping center around the hotel area.
Recommend for canton fair buyer, free service bus from hotel to fair.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

bad experience

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Rooms and hotel condition were old and outdated, front desk and concierge were not friendly. Overall bad experience. Would not recommend to anyone staying in Guangzhou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from japan

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
This hotel is convenient to go and is a five minute walk from the subway. The surrounding area is the center of Guangzhou, shopping and meals are convenient
4 out of 5
by Fatou

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Land

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Bo Qian

Great value and location

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms are spacious but some of the room amenities and furniture look old and tired though not uncomfortable. The deluxe suite had a very small wardrobe in proportion to the room. The smart TV in the living room didn't always work; only the broadcast TV channels working while the streaming channels did not work, even though the TV was internet connected. The food in the Western restaurant was too oily and heavy. Hotel location was very good, a subway station was nearby as is Guangzhou East train station. Downtown Tianhe and Zhujiang New Town are close by and easily accessible by taxi or subway. There are many restaurants and shops around the hotel, including many large electronics markets. Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful and had good English skills. Views of the Tianhe skyline from my suite were impressive. I did not use the pool or gym during my short stay. Overall the hotel was not up to international 5 star standards but was still quite comfortable. Room rates were however great value and it is generally a very good choice for visitors to Guangzhou.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels