Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Excellent and helpful staff.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The staff, room condition and history of the hotel. The hotel museum worth a visit.
We were upgraded to river-view room during our 3-night stay in Tianjin during Easter Holiday. The property is located in historic district and only steps away from Hai River. This makes jogging upstream along the Hai River extremely convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

will stay somewhere else if I go to Tianjin again

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros Central location Historic heritage site Complimentary hotel museum pass Cons No air conditioning in room because still winter Wifi connection very poor in room The bathroom design is stupid and not user friendly Hoyle lobby looks great but the room does not.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
The Astor is a nice, old, hotel. Beautifully remodeled or maybe kept up. The service is good and sincere. I love traveling in china but the Astor can be a nice break from faux luxury.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very historical hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful and polite staff. This is museum hotel, so décor was amazing.
3 out of 5
by Erlyn from California

Tianjin visit.

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
room did not feel luxury as should be. Bathroom is dirty with mildew. Had a have time to take a shower. When initially entered room, AC was not on and so it was musty. Bathroom and shower had the mildew smell. I was supposed to stay for two nights and decided to checkout the next day.
4 out of 5
by Yunlong from England

Not as good as expected

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Good view, service was not up to the standard, no one helped with my luggage when I arrived with my big luggage on the taxi
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016
Dear valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your constructive comments which is appreciated. With regrets to hear that your experience some short comings which do not reflect our service standards. I have personally shared your feedback with my concerned team members for improvement. Once again thank you for sharing your observations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future to show that we can do better. Yours sincerely, Peter Nast General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lemont,IL

Historic Astor

Posted Nov 2, 2015
The historic Astor allows you to walk back in time to an age of elegance and beauty. Our room was very spacious and it had a great view of the park. The Astor museum has wonderful photos, logs, furniture, dishes, etc. It tells the story of the earliest guests and their leisure pursuits.
5 out of 5
by Richard from Woolavington

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable. Lovely hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

going down

Posted Oct 30, 2014
have stayed several times over past several years. this time leak in sink, shower fixtures fell off. Breakfast buffet very expensive for raw bacon and corn porridge . reminded quit frequently that we had to pay for breakfast and internet even though the room cost nearly $300 a night. Something has changed in the feeling of hotel.