Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value-for-money

Posted Jan 25, 2019 on Hotels
Good hotel for the price paid. Near to the beach and huge shopping mall and many eateries just nearby. However note that there is construction going on so might be a bit noisy and dusty, though it should be completed by early February. During our second night we were awakened by loud vibrations at 5 am (supposedly due to the workers dragging some materials across the road) but were allowed to change to a room that was facing the next building instead of the road under construction. The manager, Ms. Huang was also very helpful and friendly, and gave a lot of suggestions on what to do and see. Overall it was a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2019 by 黄燕, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your honest comments, and I'm very sorry for the inevitable noise caused by the government's construction. The good news is that the construction project will be completed by the end of this year, and it is our duty to provide all-round services to our guests. It is our honor to serve you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

feedback on Mei Du Hotel, Sanya

Posted Jan 16, 2019 on Hotels
location of hotel is very good. however, there were major constructions going on during our stay that made it not only dusty but inconvenient. room is big n spacious. shower is too weak. the hotel should get it repaired. all the staff are helpful, especially Ms wang, the Manager. wifi is v weak too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2019 by 黄经理, Hotel Management
感谢您真诚的评价,由于市政修路造成的灰尘以及网络差的情况确实非常抱歉,不过工程马上接近尾声相信一切都会恢复正常,也非常荣幸我们可以为您服务,期待您的再次光临,祝您生活愉快。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice hotel, no English

Posted Jul 3, 2018
Pros: Near beach, low price, friendly staff, a short walk from awesome food
Location: 2 blocks from the beach, short cab ride from a popular beach with bars and restaurants, 20 minutes from airport/train station, great food nearby
When I booked this hotel, I was looking for someplace that could help arrange day tours, and preferably spoke English. Expedia had both of these boxes ticked, as well as airport transfers, but the hotel was not actually set up with any of that. Nobody spoke English, which was OK because I speak Chinese decently, and when I asked about transport to the airport, the response was "there are tons of taxis right out front." That was fine -- there were always tons of taxis right outside, and it was only a cheap, 20 minute drive to the airport -- just not what I was expecting. They did not appear to be set up to arrange day tours, but were EXCEEDINGLY HELPFUL with every single little thing I asked of them, from where to get the best food to how to get to the best beaches with bars and restaurants to pulling some strings to get my family onto a tour that was going where we wanted to go. The hotel staff even lent me a cell phone for our day trip so that we could call our guide if we got lost! They really went above and beyond every single day to make sure we had an amazing stay in Sanya. They had beach toys for our kid to borrow for free, and freely upgraded us from a room with one bed upon sight so that we could be a little more comfortable. It was HOT, but they let us keep our AC cranked all the time, and brought us extra towels and anything else we requested. I feel like we were basically the only people staying there, and the staff really doted on us. Oh, and the room was huge!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2018 by 黄燕, Hotel Management
非常感谢您详细的点评,为您服务是我们应该做的,期待您再次来三亚旅行,祝您生活愉快,阖家幸福。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Friendly staff

Posted Mar 22, 2018
Staff in mei du are very friendly and helpful. Easy access to beach n shopping mall. Only complaint is the shower water pressure is rather low. I will surely recommend my friends to this hotel. Keep up the good work
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by 黄燕, Hotel Management
非常感谢您的反馈,为每一个客人提供优良的服务是我们的责任,水压问题真的很抱歉由于上一个客人把您住的这间房的喷头按钮按下去没有及时调回来造成的,其他房间都是正常的,也期待您的下次光临,祝您生活愉快。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel staffs

Posted Nov 24, 2017 on Hotels
The building is old a bit, however it’s kept clean. What I liked the most is the super helpful staffs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Dear Chan kallog, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is our job to provide service for you. We look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin

Hotels.com can't cope with criticism

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
WARNING : Hotels.com fails magnificently by listing the hotel & address in pinyin, which is useless if you're trying to find it. Additionally, Google is blocked in China, making their map useless too. The characters are 美度, or 三亚美度酒店. The street name is 铁路通道. The hotel itself was beyond excellent. One of the attendants stood with us in the sun for about half an hour trying to help us get a taxi. Once we got one, he haggled the price down. What a superstar. If I ever go back to Sanya, there's no question where I'm staying. The Mei Du gets 8 out of 5 stars. Hotels.com gets -3 out of 5.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Max Benefit for Price

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Best part of this hotel is the friendly and helpful staff, even though they do not speak English.
Cons: One always hope for more, but realistically one can expect additional amenities.
Location: Location is in the local area of Sanya that is walking distance to the beach. Hotels with excellent meals and sights (such as Sheraton) are close
For the cost, it provided excellent value. Do not expect any amenities of the higher cost hotels or English-speaking staff (though they tried very hard to accommodate and it was very appreciated because I was traveling with a 92 years old mother in a wheelchair). It is close to many of the attractions and hotel is located in a local area that will give a flavor of how the non-tourists of Sanya lives. Interestingly, some of the taxis did not know where the hotel was located at. Room had nothing fancy, as expected with an hotel where the rates are very low. The spartan environment is great if one is not needing the many conveniences in the higher priced hotels such as food
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is close to the beach and local shopping

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Good price. The room was recently remodeled.
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Location: The Pacific Ocean is within walking distance. There are so many restaurants within walking distance it is a challenge to chose. Great shopping.
Pretty much everyday there was a problem. I am glad my fiancé spoke Chinese because otherwise I would have been totally lost. The first day there was a problem with the reservation. First the desk could not find the reservation and then when they located it they tried to tell me that I paid for 1 day less than I actually paid on Expedia. The front desk knew pretty much nothing about the location of everything we asked them about in Sanya. We did a walk about and in a couple of hours we found everything we asked the front desk about within 2 or 3 blocks of the hotel. The first day the sheets were dirty and had to be changed. All the other days the towels came back a little dirtier and on the last day the towels had this funky smell. I will never stay in this hotel again. Although it is extremely well located in Sanya, there are many other hotels to chose from within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

A 4 star hotel that felt like a 5 star hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, size of the room was pretty big making it quite comfortable, our room was at the end of the hallways, staff friendliness
Cons: Nothing really, a very underrated hotel for an awesome price
Location: New mall nearby with grocery store Bus stops nearby Restaurants within walking distance everywhere Beach is 5-8 minute walk
We stayed here for 2.5 weeks straight and we were pleased with the spacious size of our room which was at the end of the hallway. The mattress was incredibly comfortable and my wife, son and I slept very well each night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The washroom was clean and roomy. Overall an excellent experience for the price we paid. This is a very underrated hotel. The location was superb as it was close to the beach, numerous eating establishments and a newly opened mall across the street which had a great grocery store. Our stay in Sanya was made even better by staying here. Room cleanliness got only 4 stars because our room sometimes wasn't cleaned every day, but if you ask, the staff will promptly do so. Towels were changed everyday without having to be asked and the room floor was mopped as well daily without being prompted to do so. Definitely no regrets and my wife, who is normally quite picky, agreed that this hotel was of great value. Yeah, there's no breakfast included, but just outside are a number of eating places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gary from Saigon

Great hotel for the price

Posted Jun 22, 2014
What a pleasant surprise. Very nice hotel, large room, great staff but with limited English. Very clean and well maintained. Great location downtown. Recommend highly