Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Reasonable status

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Good airconditiner, dirty floor outside the room and in the eating room, no instruction paper in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What to expect from this hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Food View of the sea of galilee Friendly staff - once you get to know themj
Cons: Rooms Internet Correctly state distance from hotel to centre of Tiberias.
Location: About 25 minute walk to the centre of town, with loads of tourist attractions, Jewish and other. Several beaches and water sports
The main issue with Golan Hotel is the lack of Internet/wi-fi. These are stated as free, but are virtually impossible to use in normal hours - I did have some success at 4.30 am. We chose rooms with balconies on 3rd floor. These have not been renovated for some time, go for the rooms on 2nd floor, recently updated. Other issue; cleanliness round the pool. Most guests were Israeli or French, in big groups, with kids who dropped food and wrappers everywhere the adults did not clean up either, and many added to the mess with nut shells and cigarette stubs. Pointed this out to pool staff, no action taken for several hours. Very few staff spoke more than a few words of English. Hotel site indicated that the distance to the town centre was 0.7 miles. In practice, it is about 1.5 to 2 miles, depending on how the centre is defined. Downhill walk to town, steep uphil back to the hotel; bus or taxi recommended, as there is perpetual traffic on most routes and the taxis know how to avoid this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mass., USA

Practical hotel, willing to learn !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Practical
Cons: I gave them a short list of small things. They said they'd act upon it.
Location: Tiberias is a good HQ for visiting the Galil and Golan, and has some night life.
Double booking problem solved without fuss. Parking is a problem, so I suggest always use taxis. Not walking distance from town center, unless you have time and are willing to walk uphill. No washcloths !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice view of Sea of Galilee

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Great views of the Sea of Galilee. Felt safe in the hotel. Not the best location for eating and to walk around. Nice staff okay free breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful Location

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: View, staff
Cons: Security, renovate
Location: Lots of beach and sites
The hotel is fine. The staff are attentive. The hotel is beautifully located. We were there over Friday night when there was a large increase in guests from Israel (we were told by staff). We were harassed by some hotel guests who banged on our door in the middle of the night and made other noises. We reported it to the receptionist who was sympathetic and eventuality their security got the noise directed to us stopped. It was frightening. Because of this I did not feel safe and cannot recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tToronto

A pleasant experience in comfortable surroundings!

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: The central location, the ambience and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff!
Cons: It's great as it is...
Location: Great location overlooking the Sea of Galilee, with buses to the main shopping area, some ancient sites, restaurants and to the old city of Tiberius.
We checked in early and the hotel staff were most helpful and friendly! Inquiries about the tourist areas and bus services were answered cheerfully! We enjoyed the pool and spa Area and the breakfast buffet was plentiful! Altogether a great experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Halo from New Zealand

Nice enough, but not walking distance into town

Posted Jan 14, 2013
Pros: Lovely views over the Kinnaret, and great breakfast
Cons: Dining room wasn't open (this was NOT mentioned) and I'd just run the Tiberius marathon so was very disappointing.Tainted the stay for me
Location: Great views, but NOT walking distance into town
Nice enough, I imagine it would seem more pleasant in the high season. Lovely views over the Kinneret. Staff were efficient and multilingual. Bear in mind, this hotel is not walking distance to the town, so you should factor in cab fares when choosing where to stay. I think maybe they should have a courtesy shuttle into town for visitors. Decor was lovely in my room.Also the dining room wasn't open and it was a taxi ride into town. No room service available when i stayed, so be mindful of this too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Summer Israel

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Service was very good!! There is a beautiful view of the Sea of the Galilee!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On recommande

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Rien à dire de plus que bon rapport qualité prix et le personnel disponible à l'accueil. Petit déjeuner simple mais efficace et une très belle vue sur le lac de tibériade (un peu loin à pied (5 mn en voiture) salle de fitness devrait être mieux entretenue à mon sens.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK wenn man nicht viel Wert auf Ausstattung legt

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Toller Pool Bereich mit grandiosem Blick auf den See. Negativ: Frühstück nicht besonders reichhaltig Allg. Zustand eher renovierungsbedürftig (besonders das Bad)