Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful old buildings with nice renovations.

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Old world character.
Location: Walk the "tayelet."
Great location in the middle of Tiberius. Enjoyed the nearby restaurants on the lake.
3 out of 5
by ariel from paris

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very very very expensive for what it is
4 out of 5
by steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reut

Very pleasant lesurely weekend

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Quiet hotel imaculately designed. Superb service. Very tasty meals. 300 meters from the market. Easy driving distance from all sights near Safed & Sea of Galilee. Possibly slightly overpriced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cayman Islands

A bit of Scotland in Israel

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location, character and history.
Cons: Wheelchair ramps. Also dinning room was only a buffet and quite expensive. Bar menu was limited.
Location: Everything is near by.
Great location and friendly staff. They arranged the BEST tour guide for us. Morris was his name. The only negative for us was it was not handicap friendly. Otherwise loved it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Not good, very disappointed.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Very disappointed.
Cons: See above
Location: Had difficulty finding a place to eat close by.
We all were very disappointed, we had read very positive comments about this hotel only to discover the rooms were not updated, not clean, no blankets, so we slept with our coats on, for the most expensive hotel we stayed at, this was not what we expected. Also, the restaurant was closed for dinner so they offered to put place mats on the round tables in the bar to eat. The room had no TV changer, when I called the maintenance person came and got on his stomach and searched under the bed. The grounds were nice, they even opened the workout facility early which was nice, but for their reputation, they clearly have their eye off the ball, a update is needed. The American Colony in Jerusalem and the Norman in Tel Aviv were head and shoulders better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Friendly, unique hotel with a few rough spots

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, service
Cons: Wifi, rooms could be refreshed
Arrival was a little confusing, since it is not clear where to park. (You have to pull up to the gate and buzz reception.) Parking can be very tight, but the staff will assist in squeezing you into a space. The front desk's clerk could not have been more friendly, and he spoke perfect English. He gave us all the details about the hotel from memory -- opening times and locations for the restaurant, spa, etc. The room, though acceptable, was showing signs of age. Indeed, the room's hotel services directory heralded the upcoming arrival of their new spa...coming in 2008! Needless to say, these pages were not in good condition, and it's high time this book was updated. Wifi in the room was awful, and was so slow (or even nonexistent at times), such that I found it usable. Bar prices were knock-your-socks-off expensive. The hotel boasts a wide selection of different types of scotch, but we didn't think it was worth the money. There are plenty of more reasonably priced bars in proximity. Breakfast was the best we had in Israel. The buffet offered fresh-brewed coffee, an egg station, and a wide selection of pastries, breads, and meats. Tiberias was packed. And yet, despite all the noise, gridlock, and general hustle and bustle, the hotel provided a peaceful sanctuary while still being within easy walking distance of all the action. I would return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strangely run

Posted May 18, 2014
Lovely historic hotel and grounds are beautiful. Staff we found were mostly unhelpful, even bordering on rudeness in a couple of instances. They certainly did not put themselves out to help. Dinner and breakfast were self service....no one offered us wine or drinks. Usually hotels serve coffee etc at breakfast and offer a wine list at dinner! A nice pool but opening hours are kept secret. We watched from the gardens as many hopeful swimmers were turned back as the pool had closed. So mainly surly staff but nice gardens. A 5 star hotel run as if it was a hostel is how we would describe it.
3 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anne from Uk

Scots Tiberius

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is truly lovely with delightful well kept gardens and a fabulous pool area. Great breakfast and best fresh mint and lemonade drink we have ever had. Upgrade to Antique rooms if you can. They have character rather than the generic bland rooms in the new building. Tiberius is very tired but the surrounding countryside is beautiful