Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, USA

Great Lugano Access

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Easy access to downtown by bus/funicular (funicular under repair during stay) so it was a short inexpensive bus ride.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Exceptional service

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Guiseppe in the bar provided exceptional service with grace and good humour. Thanks Guiseppe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD, USA

Two nights in Lugano

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Property, hotel interior, breakfast was amazing, perfect service and food in restaurant (smoked salmon with fresh spinach and red current!!).
Cons: Rooms were a little bit small but we were OK.
Location: Mount Bre, old city center, lake cruises, UNESCO world heritage site at Bellinzona: castles.
Hotel was elegant and beautiful! Wonderful back yard with bar in the garden full of flowers. There is restaurant on the same property on the hill surrounded by bushes and palm trees, very nice service and food in rustic style. Location might be a problem, you need to cross train rails to get to the city center but it was not a problem for us. It was quite at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD, USA

One night on the way to Rhine Valley boat cruise.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff gave us umbrellas for a walk! Breakfast was amazing! There were cozy little garden in the back with bushes and flowers so we enjoyed it!
Cons: First floor suit with windows to the street was terrible: we heard garbage machines early in the morning, and all folks talking nearby. They need AC.
Location: Rhine Valley boat cruises, walks in the charming old city.
Hotel staff was very nice and accommodating, they were able to give us a suite despite the fact that we messed up our reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Well presented classic old but newly renovated hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach, CA

Excellent location

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Cons: Needed a reading light. Could not read without disturbing the others sleep with a glaring lamp.
Parking on the property with no extra fees was a big plus. Easy walking to old town. We had a beautiful view of the lake from our room. Breakfast buffet was excellent and included hot eggs and breakfast meats.
4 out of 5
by Paolo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dutches County New York

Nice hotel close to rail station

Posted May 21, 2016
This hotel was completely renovated in 2007 through 2010. It sits high above the lake and the center of Lugano. The walk to the center tourist activities is about 15 to 20 min. And down hill. The return trip is not as easy. You may want to get s taxi back. The hotel offers complimentary ful buffet breakfast and happy hour a in the bar from 5 to 6 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Perfect Stay

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, room, restaurant.
Cons: Cannot think of anything.
Could not have chosen a better hotel for location, comfort, amenities, restaurant and staff. Whilst it is not located downtown, it is a 3 min walk from train station. Walking downtown is only 10 min, or catch #2 bus. We decided to have dinner at hotel after long day of travel, and the food and staff were excellent. We had to stop ourselves eating there the next night - instead choosing one of the tourist cafes in square. Not at good as hotel. Our room was huge with distant views of mountains and lake glimpse. Highly recommended.