Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay at this hotel in Locarno

Posted Nov 30, 2016
I liked my stay here. I was only there for a night but the room was comfortable and decent. Yes, it may be a bit on the older side but everything works fine and is clean. It's also very central so that was great to walk around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Unless you have to, I would avoid this place

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Room size, receptionists (English speaking would be nice), bathrooms, elevator, air conditioning
Location: Grand Piazza, Hiking
First of all, the receptionist didn't speak English. I find this odd as this job entails you to speak with many tourists. This made communication unnecessarily difficult. Having lots of heavy luggage, she gave us a room on the highest floor. They have no elevators, so we had to lug all of this up 3 flights of steep stairs. The room was tiny; I'm not sure how they even got the bed in there as that is the only thing that fit. They had no AC and the bathroom is shared for the whole floor (not just between two rooms as we thought). The bathroom doesn't have a shower, and the only shower is way down the hall. We ended up not showering. It was loud outside and the walls are paper thin. This was one of our most expensive stays and the hotel really wasn't worth it. I would avoid
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Modest accommodations, great breakfast

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was incredible- probably the best we had in our 4 week trip.
We were excited when we saw the hotel as it looked quite elegant in the front lobby. However we were escorted across the alley to another building that was quite plain. However, the accommodations were fairly comfortable though both our windows opened to the street over the outside eating area, so there was plenty of noise. Not a big problem, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Friendly and on the plaza

Posted Jun 8, 2014
It was a bit disconcerting that only one of the hotel check-in staff knew German but still understandable given Locarno is in the Italian part. The room was very nice and gave us lots of "bang for our buck." It would have been nice to have a private bathroom, but shared between three or four rooms isn't too bad. The free breakfast was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2012
The hotel is located near shopping district and has an elevator when your room is located on higher floors. A restaurant is attached to the hotel and the food is good and more reasonable than restaurants outside of the hotel. My room was very quiet and kept clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not too flashy but comfortable

Posted Jul 30, 2008
Decent hotel for those unable to splurge. Pluses, Good breakfasts, comfortable, good location. Negatives, Shared bathroom and 2 singles beds pushed together
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Excellent location and good value

Posted Jul 24, 2008
We were in Locarno for a concert in the Grand Piazza, and the hotel was perfectly located - we had a great room with a balcony looking over the Piazza, which even allowed us to hear the next night's concert for free! Shared bathroom not a problem, and breakfast very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

la struttura discreta e ben posizionata

Posted Mar 21, 2016
TV non funzionante e la singola di 3 x 2mt poco accogliente il secondo giorno si sono dimenticati gli asciugamani
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from horb

locarno piazza grande

Posted Nov 14, 2015
war sehr schön. preis-leistungsverhältnis alles super.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saarbrücken

Stillvolles und preiswertes Hotel in der Piazza

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Uns erwartete ein geräumiges 4 Bett Zimmer in einem alten aber gut in Stand gehaltenen Gebäude direkt an der Piazza. Dusche und WC zwar wie angegeben auf dem Gang, aber dafür mehrere WCs vorhanden und Waschgelegenheit im Zimmer. Sehr freundliches Personal und leckeres Restaurant im Hotel. Ein super Preis- Leistungsverhältnis.